geoscience, geosciences, geology
Last Updated: Apr 16, 2014
This article describes a technique that can be applied to general article searches.
This short article describes a "three pass" method for reading research articles. I find it to be really helpful - give it a try!
Primary Geosciences article databases:
Major index for geology and earth sciences which includes journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Coverage of North America: 1785-present, International: 1933-present. Updated twice monthly.
Provides full-text searching and online access to 32 high-impact, peer-reviewed scholarly journals produced by leading geoscientific organizations (AAPG, AGI, GSA, MSA, GSL, SEPG, SEG). Each journal includes one to five years of backfiles and is updated continuously. Alerting and monitoring services are available.
OpenGeoSci is a map based interface that combines Geolocation coordinates from GeoRef and over 300,000 maps, cross sections, charts, figures and tables that originate in articles published in 45 journals available from GeoScienceWorld. The site is free to use. Full text articles and high resolution images are accessible via links to the GSW journals site, to which WMU subscribes. There is also Open Access content available to non-WMU users.
Other Geosciences article databases:
- Geological Society of America Publications
- GeoBib Search (1985 to 2005)
An index to both books and periodical articles in the collection of the American Geographical Society Library from 1985 to the present. Note that the call numbers given do not necessarily correspond with our call numbers or indicate that we in fact hold the material.
- Open Geoscience
Provided by the British Geological Survey. This database is a collection of datasets where users can view maps, download data, scans, photos and other information about the geology and features of the British Isles.