Geosciences
Data and Statistics
Data vs. Statistics
Raw data is a primary source. It is available in its entirety with minimal interventions, for you to analyze and draw conclusions from
A dataset is a collection of organized data. For example, an Excel spreadsheet is a dataset.
Statistics are secondary sources describing data in numerical form, such as with counts, totals, and averages.
Resources for finding data
- Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 90 billion data points from dozens of licensed and public domain datasets. Scan the contents of the collection, select subjects and variables of interest, and view your data in side-by-side tables and charts. Results are instantaneous and can be easily exported.
Now includes State Stats, formerly on the Sage Stats platform
- Google Dataset SearchGoogle helps make large datasets available through this specialized search engine. Your keywords will be searched in thousands of repositories across the Web.
- Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to and archives of social science data. Areas of research range from crime, to economic indicators, to consumer behavior, and health information. Members of the Western Michigan community are eligible to access and download the data. When accessing certain data, users will be asked to either break out of the proxy and log in with their Google or Facebook account, or remain inside the proxy and create/log in with a MyData account here.
- Data in BriefData in Brief is a multidisciplinary, open access, peer-reviewed journal, which publishes short, digestible articles that describe and provide access to research data.
- Geological Surveys DatabaseThe Geological Surveys Database includes publications from the state geological surveys and factsheets from the U.S. Geological Survey. Users must access the publications by linking through to the publications where they exist on the state geological surveys websites, or in the case of USGS Factsheets, on the USGS factsheet publication page.
The University Libraries have many state geological and soil surveys in full text format in our book stacks. These are the general areas on the Lower Level of Waldo Library where you can find the various surveys. Linked items will take you to online sites.
| Name | Call Number |
|---|---|
| Michigan Geological Survey Materials (various) | QE125 .A12 - QE126 |
| USDA Web Soil Survey (interactive map) | Online |
| Other State Geological Surveys (various - in alphabetical order by state name) | QE81-181 |
| USDA Archived Soil Surveys by State | Online |
| USGS Mineral Industry Surveys | Online |
| USGS Publications Warehouse | Online |
- Michigan Oil, Gas, and Minerals Division Data ExplorerThe Dataminer application originated and is sponsored by the Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy (EGLE) Oil, Gas, and Minerals Division (OGMD). Users can view information regarding oil, gas, and mineral well locations, structural and geologic formations, aerial, and topographic maps. This application also allows users to filter data included in the map by using the filter options on the left-hand side. Users can search by location, well type and status, permit number, operator number, and lease name.
- User Guide for the Michigan Data ExplorerThis 20 page PDF guide describes how to search the Michigan oil and gas data miner.
