WMU Research Guides: Geosciences: Exploring / Choosing a topic

Find background information

Use the resources on this page to get to know a new research area or choose a topic for a paper. These are not necessarily sources you can cite in a paper, but they will help you understand the basics and come up with keywords to use when you search for sources later.

Open web searches (Google, Wikipedia, etc.)

Feel free to begin your research on Google, as long as it doesn't end there. Use this time to try out different keywords for your topic.

Review articles

Many databases, including GeoScienceWorld and ScienceDirect, allow you to filter results to see only review articles. These kinds of articles give a broad overview of scholarship in a topic and are a good place to start your research. The databases section has more on these resources.

Encyclopedias

Try one of the specialized encyclopedias in the list below for expert-written articles on your topic, including citations to important sources.

Books

Books are a great place to start your research because they take the time to explain things you may not understand (unlike journal articles). You don't have to read the whole book! Search for books using Library Search:

Library Search
Use the filters to the left of the search results to select "books".
Most of our more recent science books are available as e-books. To access physical books, come to the library and ask at the desk for help finding it on the shelf.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Geology by Scott Elias (Editor-In-Chief); David Alderton (Editor-In-Chief)
Publication Date: 2020
Provides a comprehensive and accessible one-stop shop for information on the subject of geology, explaining methodologies and technical jargon used in the field Highlights connections between geology and other physical and biological sciences, tackling research problems that span multiple fields
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences by J. Kirk Cochran (Editor-In-Chief); Henry J. Bokuniewicz (Editor-In-Chief); Patricia L. Yager (Editor-In-Chief)
Publication Date: 2019
Represents a one-stop. organic information resource on the breadth of ocean science research. Reflects the input and different perspective of chemical, physical and biological oceanography, the specialized area of expertise of each of the three Editors-in-Chief. Provides scientifically reliable information at a foundational level, making this work a resource for students as well as active researches
Encyclopedia of Marine Geosciences by Jan Harff et al. (editors)
Publication Date: 2020
Interdisciplinary synopsis of the whole scale of marine geosciences: geophysics, hydrography, biology, climatology, ecology, and economic geology.
Treatise on Geomorphology by John F. Shroder (Editor-In-Chief)
Publication Date: 2022
This comprehensive introduction to the large and diverse discipline of geomorphology provides a key reference tool for undergraduate geology students looking for term paper topics, graduate students starting a literature review for their thesis work, and for professionals seeking a concise summary of a particular topic. Provides up-to-date information in a field that has seen significant progress in past years, including key advances in Remote Sensing and GIScience.
The Palgrave Handbook of Climate History by Sam White (Editor); Christian Pfister (Editor); Franz Mauelshagen (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017
Responds to current global warming concerns and explores the history of climate changes; Explores both weather and climate history in its relationship with human history; Brings together scholars from the humanities and the sciences to explore climate history
Encyclopedia of Scientific Dating Methods by W. Jack Rink, Jeroen Thompson (editors)
Publication Date: 2020
The volume is completely comprehensive, covering all dating methods in the earth sciences. The volume covers both young and old ages, while competing texts focus mainly on one or the other end of the time range.
Encyclopedia of Geochemistry by William M. White (editor)
Publication Date: 2020
Comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of the field of Geochemistry; Clear concise summaries of all topics in geochemistry; Entries written and edited by international team of leading researchers; Covers both theory and application of geochemistry to wide range of earth science topics
Soil Science: Fundamentals to Recent Advances by Amitava Rakshit, S.K Singh, P.C. Abhilash, Asim Biswas (editors)
Publication Date: 2021
Covers recent scientific advances in soil sciences; Puts together a comprehensive and compilation; Contributions from global experts in soil sciences
Practical and Applied Hydrogeology by Zekâi Şen
Publication Date: 2015
A multi-contributed reference that features the knowledge and experience of the field's experts, the book's chapters span the full scope of hydrogeology, introducing new approaches and progress in conceptualization, simulation of groundwater flow and transport, and progressive hydro-geophysical methods.
Treatise on Geochemistry by Karl K. Turekian (Editor-In-Chief); Heinrich D. Holland (Editor-In-Chief)
Publication Date: 2014
This extensively updated new edition of the widely acclaimed Treatise on Geochemistry has increased its coverage beyond the wide range of geochemical subject areas in the first edition, with five new volumes which include: the history of the atmosphere, geochemistry of mineral deposits, archaeology and anthropology, organic geochemistry and analytical geochemistry.
Encyclopedia of Solid Earth Geophysics by Harsh K. Gupta (editor)
Publication Date: 2021
Vital resource for Geophysics students and professionals; Details well-established and newly emerging concepts; Features contributions by over 340 leading authorities
Treatise on Geophysics by Gerald Schubert (Editor-In-Chief)
Publication Date: 2015
Comprehensive and detailed coverage of all aspects of geophysics; Fundamental and state-of-the-art discussions of all research topics; Integration of topics into a coherent whole