WMU Research Guides: Psychology: Cite Sources / Style Guides

The Publication Manual

This is the official style manual of the American Psychological Association.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: Waldo Stacks and 2-Hour Reserves BF76.7 .P83 2020
ISBN: 9781433832161
Publication Date: 2019-10-01

APA Style Guides

These books books below are a sample of materials that will help you use and interpret the writing style described in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.

APA Style Simplified by Bernard C. Beins This is a compact but comprehensive guide to writing clearly and effectively in APA style. Demonstrates how to write objective scientific research papers using interesting prose Incorporates guidelines from the 6th edition of the APA publication manual Explores how to develop ideas, connect them to what others have written, and express them clearly Discusses the differences between written, oral, and poster presentations and offers instructions for applying APA style to each
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781118289099
Publication Date: 2012-03-22
The Concise APA Handbook by Paul Iida; Rachael Ruegg; Mark de Boer; Naoko Araki; Mary Frances Agnello "Most students struggle with learning how to find references, use them effectively, and cite them appropriately in a required format. One of the most common formats is that of APA. The authors all have vast experience teaching writing courses to various levels of students from undergraduates to graduates in other countries. However, there was lacking a book that could explain the basics of APA in simple, easy-to-understand language for non-native speakers of English, who are often unfamiliar with using references and formatting an essay in a particular method. In order to offer English Learner student writers a source of information that is appropriate for their level, and is cost-effective, this updated APA 7th edition guidebook provides students with important information in clear, concise, user-friendly language, as well as to offer practical examples that will help them grasp the concept of secondary research writing. Much of the published materials on the market targets native speakers of English. The problem with this is that they present the nitpicky details of APA in ways that do not make sense to native speakers of English, let alone to those for whom English is not their first language, because the information is presented in very technical terms that are not easy to understand. This handbook presents the same information in simplified terms with images and step-by-step instructions in ways that make sense to both native and non-native English speaking student writers. Additionally, student writers often struggle with understanding the concept of plagiarism, as well as how to find sources, evaluate the appropriateness of sources, and use sources in effective ways (e.g., how to integrate quotes, when to paraphrase, among others). This book provides this important information that is concise and easy to understand."--
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781648021831
Publication Date: 2021-02-01
Concise Guide to APA Style by American Psychological Association Staff (Contribution by) Concise Guide to APA Style, Seventh Edition is the official APA Style resource for students. Designed specifically for undergraduate writing, this easy-to-use pocket guide is adapted from the seventh edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. It provides complete guidance for new writers on effective, clear, and inclusive scholarly communication and the essentials of formatting papers and other course assignments. New to This Edition: full color throughoutcontent relevant to a range of majors and courses, including psychology, social work, criminal justice, communications, composition, education, business, engineering, and morea new chapter focused on student papersa sample student title page, paper, and annotated bibliographystreamlined APA Style headings and in-text citationsa new chapter on writing style and grammarchapters on punctuation, lists, italics, spelling, capitalization, abbreviations, numbers, and statisticsthe latest bias-free language guidelinesnew sample tables and figuresguidance on avoiding plagiarism and self-plagiarismnew reference templates and examples
Call Number: Waldo Library Permanent Reserves, circulates for 7 days BF76.7 .C66 2020
ISBN: 9781433832734
Publication Date: 2019-12-01
Concise Rules of APA Style by American Psychological Association Staff The Concise Rules of APA Style, Sixth Edition offers essential writing and formatting standards for students, teachers, researchers, and clinicians in the social and behavioural sciences. This easy-to-use pocket guide, compiled from the sixth edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, provides complete guidance on the rules of style that are critical for clear communication. Readers will learn how to avoid the grammatical errors most commonly reported by journal editors; how to choose the appropriate format for statistics, figures, and tables; how to credit sources and avoid charges of plagiarism; and how to construct a reference list through a wide variety of examples and sources. In addition to guidance on grammar points that have challenged writers in the social sciences, the Concise Rules provides suggestions for reducing bias in language; reviews the mechanics of style for punctuation, spelling, capitalisation, abbreviation, italicisation, headings and quotations; examines the preferred use of numbers as well as standards for metrication and statistics; provides guidance on the construction and formatting of tables, figures and appendixes; and offers clear examples and models for citing sources and constructing error-free reference lists. Available in a light-weight, spiral-bound format, the Concise Rules will travel easily from home to school to office. It will be an invaluable reference tool for all social science scholars who are serious about communicating clearly and effectively. Key to this edition is an updated and expanded APA Style website, with many additional resources to help readers learn APA style, including free tutorials, on-line courses, frequently asked questions, sample papers, and the APA Style blog. The sixth edition of Concise Rules has been revised and updated to include simplified APA heading style to make it more conducive to electronic publication; updated guidelines for reducing bias in language to reflect current practices and preferences, including a new section on presenting historical language that is inappropriate by present standards; new guidelines for reporting inferential statistics and a significantly revised table of statistical abbreviations; a new discussion on the use of online supplemental materials, including lengthy data sets and other media, to enrich the published article; significantly expanded content on the electronic presentation of data to help readers understand the purpose of each kind of display and choose the best match for communicating the results of the investigation, with new examples for a variety of data displays, including electrophysiological and biological data; an expanded discussion of electronic sources, emphasizing the role of the digital object identifier (DOI) as a reliable way to locate information; and a wealth of new reference examples, with a focus on new electronic formats. New and experienced readers alike will find the sixth edition a complete resource for writing with clarity and precision.How does the Concise Rules differ from the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association? The Publication Manual remains the best source for broad background information about scientific publishing. In addition to writing style rules, it provides detailed guidance on publication ethics, journal article reporting standards, and the process of journal publication. The Concise Rules, by comparison, targets only those rules writers need for choosing the best words and format for their articles. It offers a comprehensive list of essential writing standards in a convenient, easily retrievable format.
Call Number: Waldo Library Reference, Non-circulating BF76.7 .C66 2010
ISBN: 9781433805608
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
Reporting Quantitative Research in Psychology by Harris M. Cooper In this book, Harris Cooper offers practical guidance for understanding and implementing APA Style Journal Article Reporting Standards (JARS) and Meta-Analysis Reporting Standards (MARS) for quantitative research. These standards provide the essential information researchers need to report, including detailed accounts of the methods they followed, data results and analysis, interpretations of their findings, and implications for future research. This revised edition reflects updates to JARS and MARS that meet developing needs in the behavioral, social, educational, and medical sciences. Cooper analyzes examples from APA journals, offering readers advice for implementing these revised standards in their own writing while also conforming with the APA Style guidelines in the seventh edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. Updated chapters offer more detailed guidelines for reporting statistical analyses and unique elements of different types of research, including replication studies, clinical trials, and observational studies. Book jacket.
Call Number: Ebook and Waldo Library General Stacks BF76.8 .C66 2020
ISBN: 9781433832833
Publication Date: 2020-01-14