WMU Research Guides: BCM 2520: Professional Oral and Digital Communication: Home

Business Citations in APA 7

Citing Sources and APA 7 for Business Students (Tutorial)
APA 7th ed. Citation for Business Sources
Schemm, N., Dellenbach, M., Grisham, Z., Hageman, M., Tingle, N., Trowbridge, M., & Wheatley, A. (2020). APA 7th ed. citation for business sources. https://bit.ly/APA7business
Quick Guide for APA 7th ed.
APA Formatting and Style Guide 7th Edition, Purdue Owl Writing Lab
APA Style Blog

Brainstorming Rhetorical Arguments

Gemini Chat with Librarian

Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The ABI/INFORM Collection, provided by ProQuest, offers access to scholarly articles, trade publications, and industry reports across business and economics. It is valuable for career research assignments, helping students explore industry trends, company information, and professional insights. With ABI/INFORM, students can gather data on market conditions, understand key challenges in their chosen fields, and make informed career decisions.
ABI stands for Abstracted Business Information. There was a database building project going on at the University of Wisconsin named Inform and the creators of ABI obtained the Inform software, materials, and customer list. Therefore, the name became ABI/INFORM.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This service from Google searches scholarly literature, including articles, theses, books and technical reports, and "gray literature" from many areas of research. Some materials are free, some will be available to WMU users by clicking on "Article Linker" while others may require a fee. Use this source in addition to library databases for a more complete search of scholarly literature.
To enable links from the "Find it@WMU" from off-campus computers, follow these instructions or watch a video tutorial :

1. Go to Google Scholar.
2. Click on the "options" wheel in the top right corner.
3. Select "Library Links" from menu on the left side.
4. In the "Library Links" search box, type "Western Michigan University Libraries".
5. Click the checkbox next to "Western Michigan University Libraries (ArticleLinker)".
6. Click the "Save".
8. A link to "ArticleLinker" should now appear next to those citations that are available electronically from the Libraries.

Linking Google Scholar to WMU from off Campus

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld is a database that provides in-depth industry reports, market research, and analysis. For career research assignments, it helps students understand industry trends, growth prospects, and competitive landscapes in various sectors. By using IBISWorld, students can explore potential career paths, gain insights into key industries, and identify job opportunities aligned with market demands.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is an online platform that offers access to data, statistics, and reports across a wide range of fields. It helps college students find reliable data for research projects, presentations, and academic papers. With Statista, students can explore trends, analyze information, and support their work with credible, up-to-date sources.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics provides detailed information on careers, including job descriptions, required education, salary, and job outlook. It helps college students explore career options, plan their education, and understand market trends. With this resource, students can make informed decisions about internships, job applications, and future careers.

Sample Citation: U. S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. (2020). High school teachers. Occupational outlook handbook. https://www.bls.gov/ooh/education-training-and-library/high-school-teachers.htm

ONET Online
ONET, developed by the U.S. Department of Labor, is a career exploration tool that provides detailed information on job roles, skills, qualifications, and work environments. It helps college students align their interests and abilities with potential careers and understand the skills required for success. Students can use ONET to explore career paths, identify skill gaps, and plan their education accordingly.