WMU Research Guides: BCM 3700: Integrated Communications in Business: Corbett

Class Activity

Welcome to the BCM 3700 Library Lab

Use this link to make a copy of the Class Activity
Log in to your Google Drive account with your @wmich.edu email
Copy the doc to your Google Drive: File > Make a copy > Entire Presentation.

Troubleshooting:

Can't view? Make sure you are logged in to your WMU Google Drive.
Can't edit? You are probably not on the copy you made. You might be on the library's drive page.
Can't make a copy? Make sure you are logged in to Google Drive.

Company and Career Research

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Search hundreds of U.S. and state industry reports, including Core NAICS, Industry Market Research, Reports on the Business Environment, Industry Risk Ratings, and Global Industry Research.
Global Data Explorer (formerly MarketLine) This link opens in a new window
This database compiles business information using primary and secondary research to create 10,000 company, 2,000 industry, and 50 country profiles. MarketLine includes daily updates of relevant news, comments and analysis, company history, and a SWOT analysis (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats) within company profiles.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Search for user-friendly statistical tables and infographics on more than 80,000 topics drawn from over 22,500 sources, covering market and consumer data and many more areas of interest. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This is the most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, ABI/INFORM Dateline and ABI/INFORM Archive, featuring thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country- and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
ABI stands for Abstracted Business Information. There was a database building project going on at the University of Wisconsin named Inform and the creators of ABI obtained the Inform software, materials, and customer list. Therefore, the name became ABI/INFORM.
Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Provides the Access World News Research Collection with full-text articles from over 4500 U.S. and international newspapers, wire services, and broadcasts. There is access to America's Historical Newspapers, as well as Hot Topics and Special Reports on current issues in the news.