Students and faculty enrolled in programs off campus are eligible to request delivery of articles, books, and vidoes from University Libraries. NOTE: see box below for eligibility and restrictions. This service is usually free of charge to WMU students, faculty and staff. Use the Interlibrary Loan system to request materials in the WMU collections as well as those that we may borrow on your behalf from other libraries.
Journal articles are generally scanned and sent to your email box within a few short days of request. Articles from WMU collections usually arrive within 24 hours.
Books take a bit longer, since they are sent via UPS. Normally, books arrive in about a week.
Videos from the Instructional Video Collection may also be requested through this service, and will usually arrive in about a week.
Before using WMU's interlibrary loan service, you must first register and set up an account. Click here to begin the process. You will be asked to login with your BroncoNetID and password. If you have never used the service before, follow the prompts for First Time Users.
Many of our journal databases allow you to put in an interlibrary loan request directly from the database itself. Be on the lookout for this button in whatever database you are searching . You will click on it to see if WMUhas access to the item electronically. If there is not link to full text access you will see a link underneath it that says "Get it elsewhere." Just login in with your BroncoNetID and password and let the system do the rest.
Graduate students are granted a one-semeter loan period for books in the WMU collections. Books that come from other libraries through the interlibrary loan service generally havs a 4-week loan period. Sometimes these materials may be renewed and sometimes there are no renewals allowed. When a book is sent to you it wil have a banner on the cover indicating the due date and whether or not it can be renewed. Pleast pay attention to the due date and renewal information.
WMU books and interlibrary loan books may be renewed on the My Account page.
Loan periods, renewals and other information for undergraduates, graduates, and faculty can be found on the Borrowing and Renewals page.
There is no charge for the service. However, you are responsible for the cost of returning any materials loaned to you and any overdue fines.