Overview

The Zhang Legacy Collections Center houses the WMU Archives and Regional History Collections as well as WMU Libraries' Special Collections. The Center, located on WMU's East Campus, contains over 30,000 cubic feet of resources and books, making it the largest facility of its type in southwest Michigan and one of the largest in the state.

WMU Archives & Regional History Collections

The WMU Archives & Regional History Collections are wonderful resources for HIST 6440 students. The Collections contains many artifacts, photographs, and other materials about WMU, Kalamazoo, and southwest Michigan history, and is staffed by knowledgeable experts. The Collections are housed in the Zhang Legacy Collections Center .

WMU Libraries Special Collections 

Special Collections contains 43,000 items are available for research, creative and academic projects. Examples of their collections include Medieval and early modern materials; 19th and 20th century personal and scholarly papers and limited-edition books; women's poetry; Book arts and graphic design; and children's literature. For more in-depth information and example, see the Special Collections home page at https://wmich.edu/library/special-collections 

Using Materials in the Zhang Legacy Collections Center

Visitors are welcome in the Zhang Legacy Collections Center any time during their open hours. All materials must be used in the Center and cannot be checked out. Most collections must be retrieved by staff and can take up to thirty minutes to be available for research. 

To more easily find what you need, the Center staff encourage people to email ahead of their visit and make an appointment-- it's easy and helpful!. To make an appointment: 

1. Email arch-collect@wmich.edu
2. In the email, include your name, phone number and what materials you hope to work with during your visit
3. The Zhang Center staff will contact you to develop a research plan

For More Information

For more information about the Collections, parking, and driving directions, visit the Zhang Legacy Collections Center website at https://wmich.edu/library/visit/zhang

Besides WMU Libraries materials, there are useful materials in local libraries and archives. Below are a few in the Kalamazoo area and south Michigan.