WMU Research Guides: HIST 6440: Material Culture: Primary Documents Databases

Databases with Primary Documents

There is bound to be something in at least one of these databases that will help you locate some pertinent primary documents for your paper.

American Periodicals Series (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains over 1,500 periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and more.

HarpWeek

Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984)
Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
The Chicago Defender (1909-1975)
Chicago Tribune (1847-1993)
Christian Science Monitor (1908-2003)
Detroit Free Press (1831-1999)
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
Los Angeles Times (1881-1992)
The Michigan Chronicle (1939-2010)
The Nashville Tennessean (1812-1922)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
New York Times w/ Index (1851-2013)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
The Wall Street Journal (1889-1999)
The Washington Post (1877-2000)

Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
This is an archive of over 340 digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, some as early as the seventeenth century. Coverage generally ceases with 2000.

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 : Scholar's Edition

Vogue Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window

Meet Your Librarian

Carrie Leatherman

She/Her

Email Me

Librarian:

Office: Waldo Library Room 1048 (First Floor)

Office Phone: (269) 387-5142

Subjects: African American and African Studies, Anthropology, Economics, Global and International Studies, History, Political Science, Psychology, Public Affairs and Administration, Sociology and Criminal Justice

American Memory--Your Tax Dollars at Work

America at Work, America at Leisure : Motion Pictures from 1894-1915 offers 150 motion pictures of Americans at work, school and engaged in leisure activities.

The Chinese in California site includes over 8,000 images and other primary documents about the life of Chinese immigrants in California from 1850 to 1925. (Images courtesy of the Library of Congress)