It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PADM 5830: Grant Writing for Nonprofit Organizations
The Foundation Center - "Self-Paced eLearning"
This is an excellent source of information about how to find and obtain grants. Includes online help( Ask Us) and free tutorials, e.g., Proposal Writing Short Course, Proposal Budgeting Basics. They also offer fee-based classes on grant writing.
In a world of tightening budgets and increased competition for grant money, Developing a Winning Grant Proposal provides the guidelines, strategies, plans, and techniques to craft a fundable grant proposal. A user-friendly, engaging, and up-to-date guide, this book covers the entire process from the inception of a good idea, to the formulation of a strong proposal, to the next steps once a proposal is funded. Providing a basic overview and helpful tools for busy faculty and researchers, this is a must-have guide for anyone interested in the mechanisms that successful grant writers employ. Special Features Include: Appendices with a "Model of a Funded Proposal" and a "Basic Toolbox for Grant Seekers" Checklists for self-evaluating the efficacy of each portion of the grant proposal Coverage of complex issues in a concise and clear manner, perfect for grant writers facing tight time constraints.
Grant funding has become increasingly crucial to universities and university faculty, even as government and private funding reductions and increased application pools result in a more and more competitive environment. Securing the funding which is available is not a simple process, and institutional support for faculty who seek grants is uneven, where it exists at all. Faculty members are often left to navigate their own ways through the shifting landscape of the grants maze. When added on top of teaching and service loads, it s no surprise that many faculty members either avoid seeking grants altogether or produce grant proposals which have little or no chance of being funded.<br /> <br /> Faculty need a guide, and this book is that guide.<br /> <br /> Written by a team of successful grant writers, <i>Grant Seeking in Higher Education</i> orients faculty to the grants culture and walks readers step-by-step through the entire grant-seeking process, from identifying sources to preparing a successful application to administering the funds after the grant is awarded. The grant-seeking toolkit which is free online to purchasers of the book for you to download or print and use in your work includes standard forms, templates, and timelines for proposal development so any faculty member, from the scientist to the humanities scholar, can be sure not to miss out on the funding they deserve.
Guide to Effective Grant Writing: How to Write a Successful NIH Grant, 2nd edition is a fully updated follow-up to the popular original. It is written to help the 100,000+ post-graduate students and professionals who need to write effective proposals for grants. There is little or no formal teaching about the process of writing grants for NIH, and many grant applications are rejected due to poor writing and weak formulation of ideas. Procuring grant funding is the central key to survival for any academic researcher in the biological sciences; thus, being able to write a proposal that effectively illustrates one's ideas is essential. Covering all aspects of the proposal process, from the most basic questions about form and style to the task of seeking funding, this volume offers clear advice backed up with excellent examples. Included are a number of specimen proposals to help shed light on the important issues surrounding the writing of proposals. The Guide is a clear, straight-forward, and reader-friendly tool. Guide to Effective Grant Writing: How to Write a Successful NIH Grant Writing is based on Dr. Yang's extensive experience serving on NIH grant review panels; it covers the common mistakes and problems he routinely witnesses while reviewing grants.
Previous Praise for Winning Grants Step by Step "Warning: this book works. It provokes you to ask the right questions, hand-holds you through practical exercises, and offers a map that includes paths to develop strategic relationships with funders." --E. Eduardo Romero, Nonprofit Roundtable "Winning Grants Step by Step is a very practical A-to-Z resource that speaks to the importance of staying focused on your mission every step of the way. The third edition is artfully updated with words of wisdom from grantmakers themselves, as well as updates on the latest processes and buzzwords all grantseekers need to know." --Heather Iliff, Maryland Association of Nonprofit Organizations "With solid advice and clear examples, nonprofit leaders will find it a page turner " --Clarence Hauer, senior director, strategy and organizational development, St. Louis Nonprofit Services Consortium "Winning Grants Step by Step is a gift to nonprofit organizations. The valuable insights and hands-on tools will instantly make any proposal more competitive." --Alex Carter, Your Nonprofit Coach "Developing great grant proposals is essential for nonprofit leaders. Winning Grants Step by Step provides important guidance to those who are new to fundraising as well as to anyone who needs a refresher. This new edition of Winning Grants brings updated tips and vivid examples. As an experienced fundraising consultant, I believe it will help my clients and colleagues alike." --Maria Gitin, CFRE, Maria Gitin & Associates "As an executive director, fundraising is on my mind every day. It's great to have a resource like Winning Grants Step by Step to use and share with my board, staff, and peers." --Deborah Menkart, executive director, Teaching for Change
This fully updated and revised edition of a classic guide to grant writing for health and human service professionals reflects the two major changes in the field: new NIH application processes and an increased emphasis on interprofessional and team approaches to science. New case examples reflect grant writing strategies for a great variety of health and human service professions, and the text includes an enhanced focus on online methods for organizing grant submissions. A new section on special considerations for submitting grants addresses specific types of research including community-based participatory research, mixed methods, behavioral intervention research, and dissertation and, mentorship proposals. The new chapter on common writing challenges and solutions provides examples of strong and weak statements and highlights the importance of writing with precision. Additionally, this new edition provides an expanded section on post-award requirements and links to NIH videos about grant writing. Written for individuals in both academic and practice settings, the guide addresses, step-by-step, the fundamental principles for effectively securing funding. It is the only book to provide grant-writing information that encompasses many disciplines and to focus on building a research career with grant writing as a step-by-step process. It provides detailed, time-tested strategies for building an investigative team, highlights the challenges of collaboration, and describes how to determine the expertise needed for a team and the roles of co-investigators. The book addresses the needs of both novice and more experienced researchers. New to the Fourth Edition: Reflects recent changes to the field including an emphasis on interprofessional approaches to science and new NIH application processes Offers additional case examples relevant to social work, nursing, psychology, rehabilitation, and occupational, physical, and speech therapies Provides links to NIH websites containing videos on grant writing Includes chapter opener objectives Expands section on post-award requirements Focuses on electronic mechanisms for organizing grant submissions
A first of its kind, this book provides you everything you need to know about successfully navigating the grant writing process including understanding the language of grant writing, finding grants, preparing the proposal, completing the application, preparing budgets, organizing information and timelines, revising and editing the proposal, including the assessment and evaluation, and building meaningful relationships with program officers and colleagues.
<b>Find, apply for, and win grant dollars for the classroom</b> <p>This accessible guide offers a proven, step-by-step process for researching, writing, applying for, and winning education grants. The book educates readers on the basics of grant writing, including what sources are the most reliable for securing education funding. It also serves as a practice tool, with worksheets, proposal templates, real-world examples, and advice from grant-winning teachers to help instill confidence about navigating this somewhat daunting process.</p> <ul> <li>Offers a proven formula for winning education grants in clear, step-by-step instructions</li> <li>Includes a wealth of handy tools, worksheets, templates, and teacher-tested advice</li> <li>Outlines the four main components of money-generating education grants</li> <li>Based on UNITE′s celebrated "Grant Writing Teacher" Professional Development series</li> </ul> <p>The book′s step-by-step process is filled with illustrative examples of successful grant proposals.</p>
The new edition incorporates changes and trends over the past five years in seeking and landing funding for education-based projects and institutions. It reflects the growing number of foundations with Web pages, using the Internet, the government trend toward online applications, recent statistics,