PADM 5830: Grant Writing for Nonprofit Organizations
General Information on Non-Profits
- Charity NavigatorCharity Navigator evaluates and compares nonprofit charities for potential donors. Ratings include financial health, accountability and transparency. In addition to rating information sign up for a free login account to access past ratings, IRS information, including current and past IRS 990 forms and links to news articles about the charity.
- GuideStar National Database of Nonprofit OrganizationsRequires free registration.
- National Center for Charitable StatisticsA project of the Center on Nonprofits and Philanthropy (CNP) at the Urban Institute, the NCCS provides brief information on nonprofit organizations including financial information, recent 990 forms and programming information. Search for nonprofits by name or by location or by National Taxonomy of Exempt Entities (NTEE) code.
Also find profiles of the U.S. and individual state nonprofit sectors and search for information on nonprofits by state, county or zip code. - Kresge Business Library - Guide to Nonprofit Organizations & NGOsResources compiled by librarians from University of Michigan Kresge Business Library. Categories include links to nonprofit organizations, nonprofit databases, and freely available resources related to financial management, regulations, board governance and fundraising.
- Foundation StatsThe Foundation Center provides this free database where you can find data on grants given per year, including dollar value of those grants, by subject areas. This database also allows you to view data by population groups and recepient location. Additional statistics include aggregate grant fiscal data and top grant givers.
Government Information
- American Fact FinderSource for population, housing, economic, and geographic data in the United States produced by U.S. Census Bureau.
- IRS - Charities & Non-ProfitsImportant information for nonprofits on annual filing and reporting requirements, tax forms and tips for filing. The site also includes instructions on how to apply to be tax exempt, provides educational materials and lists webinars and other educational opportunities. There is also an A to Z index of topics useful to nonprofits and charities.
- How to Read the New IRS Form 990This guide is based on the 2010 IRS 990 form and was written by Peter Swords, former executive director of the Nonprofit Coordinating Committee of New York.
- USA.gov - Starting a Non-ProfitInformation on government grants, loans and assistance for nonprofits, links to tax information for nonprofits, and links to government web sites on information for managing nonprofits.
Financial Information
Nonprofit organizations with 501(c)(3) status are required to file Form 990, Return of Organizations Exempt from Income Tax, with the IRS. The form includes financial statements and background information on the nonprofit, including salaries of key employees (i.e. director, head, officers).
- CitizenAuditCitizenAudit simplifies learning about nonprofits by providing 15 years of disclosures for every charity in America and allowing you to search for any keyword inside the IRS filings (form 990s). You can perform these searches on all nonprofits including: foundations, hospitals, universities, political groups & more.
- GoogleSearch 990 and the name of the nonprofit.
- IRS Exempt Organizations Select CheckReplaces Publication 78 search and consolidates 3 former search engines.
- Search organizations eligible to receive tax-deductible contributions (Publication 78 data)
- Search organizations whose federal tax exemption was revoked for not filing a Form 990-series
- Search organizations who have filed Form 990-N
Statisitcal Information
- Statista This link opens in a new windowSearch for user-friendly statistical tables and infographics on more than 80,000 topics drawn from over 22,500 sources, covering market and consumer data and many more areas of interest. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
- Statistical Abstract of the United StatesStatistical information compiled by U.S. Census Bureau (1878-2012)
- IRS Statistics for Charitable & Exempt OrganizationsLinks to statistical tables, articles and other information on charities and other tax-exempt organizations from 1988 to the most recent year posted.