PSCI 4210/GWS 4100: Gender and Law
Core Legal Databases
The following databases contain references to legal cases and issues related to the law. Westlaw and HeinOnline are premier legal sources when you wish to read the text of the laws, court reports, and law review journal articles (in Westlaw).
- Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Westlaw's research service redesigned for students. Legal sources, including the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, United States Code Annotated (USCA), Federal and State court cases, American Law Reports (ALR), American Jurisprudence 2d, Black's Law Dictionary, Legal Guides, and more. Also includes more than 700 law reviews and journals.
Citations sent using Westlaw's email option do not provide a permalink that can be used to link directly to a case. Users are encouraged to log into Westlaw and then search for the citation(s) received via email, and when sending cases, to select the radio button for "documents" instead of "list of items" when using the email option.Added January 3, 2014.
- HeinOnline: The Modern Link to Legal History This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline consists of major full-text legal collections including: the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, U.S. Code, the U.S. Supreme Court Library, and the Selden Society Publications and the History of Early English Law. These collections are image-based and fully searchable, with comprehensive coverage of each title, some going back to the 18th century.
Subject Guide for Law
For more information on legal sources, be sure and visit the Subject Guide for Law. The librarian who specializes in the law is LuMarie Guth. If you need in-depth assistance, you might want to email or call her directly. Her email address is lumarie.guth@wmich.edu and her telephone number is 269-387-5153.
Meet Your Librarian
