WMU Research Guides: PSCI 4210/GWS 4100: Gender and Law: Newspaper Databases

Newspaper Databases

American Newspapers (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
A subset of the Access World News collection from NewsBank, this database consists of 3,000 American newspapers. They are listed by state and are searchable individually, by state or nationally.
Newsstream - US This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream provides access to over 900 newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites from 1980 to the present. Includes access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal in addition to collections of local and regional newspapers.
Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984)
Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
The Chicago Defender (1909-1975)
Chicago Tribune (1847-1993)
Christian Science Monitor (1908-2003)
Detroit Free Press (1831-1999)
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
Los Angeles Times (1881-1992)
The Michigan Chronicle (1939-2010)
The Nashville Tennessean (1812-1922)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
New York Times w/ Index (1851-2013)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
The Wall Street Journal (1889-1999)
The Washington Post (1877-2000)
Michigan News Sources This link opens in a new window
Search or browse more than 200 newspapers from Michigan, including the Kalamazoo Gazette, Detroit News, Flint Journal, Grand Rapids Press, the Western Herald, and more. Starting coverage dates vary from 1980 to current.

The Usefulness of Newspapers

Newspapers can be very useful for your research because they are so very current, with the major papers publishing every day. Also, you can find policy information specific to the fifty states.