SOC 2000: Principles of Sociology
Where do I start?
It all begins with your topic.
- State your TOPIC in terms of you would like to find out about: "I would like to explore ..."
- For example: I would like to explore attitudes toward corporal punishment in various countries.
- State that you are exploring this because you want to discover who, what, where, or why.
- For example: I am exploring this because I want to know if there are different attitudes toward corporal punishment in Japan and the United States.
- (More focused yet: I would like find out if attitudes toward corporal punishment in the schools are different Japan and the United States.)
- CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
Created and hosted by CQ Press, the CQ Press Library is the definitive reference resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. A wealth of CQ Press resources and years of journalistic and editorial expertise are combined in this indispensable reference collection. These reference products offer researchers—whether students, scholars, professionals, or interested citizens—a range of tools for discovering and understanding CQ Press's authoritative content. The suite includes CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, Supreme Court Yearbook, and Politics in America.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowIndexes popular magazines, scholarly journals, newspapers and trade publications in a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Full-text available for over 2,500 journals. Coverage from 1857.
Books at WMU and Beyond
Library Search
Used for WMU's collection of books, ebooks, articles, and streaming video. You can request physical items from the collection and pick them up at Waldo Library with our no contact holds service.
Use MelCat and WorldCat to find books "out there" in other libraries besides WMU.
Request books and videos from libraries across the state of Michigan directly through MelCat.
Request books in libraries across the country and beyond by submitting an Interlibrary Loan request in WorldCat.
Borrowing items is typically at no cost to you.
- MeLCat This link opens in a new window
The Michigan eLibrary catalog and resource sharing system. Search for books and other materials in many Michigan libraries. You will need your WIN in order to request materials.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive catalog of books and other materials in libraries around the world. Contains millions of records in hundreds of languages. Items located through WorldCat must be requested through Interlibrary Loan unless they are also listed in the WMU libraries catalog. (Library Search)
Nonbook materials include (among other publication formats) journals and magazines, manuscripts, maps, electronic resources, websites, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, sound recordings, conference proceedings, and videotapes and discs.
Meet Your Librarian
