Why Look at my Picks?
These are high quality Web sites and databases, many of them hosted by colleges and universities across the nation, and ones that your instructors will approve of using in your research papers. Quite a few of the sites contain primary documents.
World Digital Library
Medieval Studies Subject Guide
For in-depth assistance in maneuvering through the Middle Ages explore the subject guide maintained by Susan Steuer, WMU's special collections librarian.
Medieval Studies
- Byzantium : Byzantine Studies on the InternetDeveloped by Paul Halsall, this site provides a wide offering of sites of interest to Byzantine scholars. Includes links to full text, images and sound files, along with a detailed subject listing of topics and related Web sites.
- Feminae : Medieval Women Women and Gender IndexHosted by the University of Iowa, this site covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women,
sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. You can search by keywords or broad topics. It does not contain any full-text. - Internet Medieval SourcebookHosted by the Fordham University Center for Medieval Studies, this site offers researchers a selection of primary and secondary sources from the medieval period. Use the handy "Selected Sources Sections" on the left hand side of the page to help navigate.
- Medieval Institute at Western Michigan UniversityEstablished in 1961 as a center for teaching and research in the history and culture of the Middle Ages, this Institute fosters research through its annual International Congress on Medieval Studies and its numerous publications.
- Online Medieval & Classical LibraryA full-text collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization; hosted by the University of California at Berkeley.
- ORB--Online Reference Books for Medieval StudiesA cooperative effort on the part of medieval scholars across the Internet to establish an online textbook source for medieval studies on the World Wide Web; includes access to the Internet Medieval Sourcebook and links to other sites.
Modern History
Africa, Asia & the Middle East
Meet Your Librarian
Carrie Leatherman
She/Her
Librarian:
Office: Waldo Library Room 1048 (First Floor)
Office Phone: (269) 387-5142