HIST 3611 : The Crusades
Using Library Search to Search for Articles
You can use the Library' Search's Advanced Search to find articles on your topic in the WMU collection.
If you want peer-reviewed articles or articles limited by a specific date range, or limited to a specific subject (topic, discipline), filter boxes are located on the left column. Then select the green filter button to filter your search. Library Search is interdisciplinary and will search all disciplines. In many cases, using an interdisciplinary search you will discover articles from subject areas you find valuable but had not considered prior to the search. That’s a good thing!
Select this link for more information and tutorials about using Library Search
Best Journal Databases in Mideval History
- International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
An index to articles in journals and other publications about Europe, the Middle East and North Africa within the dates 400-1500 AD. Coverage from 1967 to Current.
This subscription is limited to three simultaneous users. Please log out when finished.
Other Avenues to Articles
There are several other journal databases that you might search, in addition to the databases listed in the center column.
- JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection includes all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR, covering more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Also included are millions of primary sources from the 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and the Global Plants collections.
The JSTOR platform does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of a journal’s content. Current issues of journals hosted on the JSTOR platform are available through separate subscriptions on other platforms. Please check LibrarySearch for access to embargoed content. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE (Museums Uniting with Schools in Education) offers more than 300 journal titles from several scholarly publishers in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, economics, and others.
Meet Your Librarian
Social Sciences Librarian
