WMU Research Guides: BUS 1750: Business Enterprise: Home

Webinar Information

Company Research

ABI/INFORM Collection (now ProQuest Central Premium)
ProQuest Central Premium is a multidisciplinary research database that encompasses many smaller, subject-specific databases covering all major areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts, humanities, religion, education, science, and technology. Content types include full-text scholarly, trade, and professional journals; newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, and magazines; working papers and case studies; videos, e-books, and more. ABI/Inform users seeking only subject-specific content can limit their search to individual databases included in ProQuest Central Premium by clicking the “Change Databases” option on the ProQuest Platform or selecting them from the libraries' Database A-Z list. ProQuest Central Premium includes: ComDisDome, ProQuest Research Library, ABI/Inform collections, ProQuest One collections, Sociological Abstracts, and more.
Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition (ProQuest)
(Eastern edition) A U.S. daily financial newspaper that covers news and trends relating to business, industry, finance, the economy, and international commerce. Provides extensive price and other data for securities, commodity, options, futures, foreign exchange, and money markets. Full text from 1984-present.
Global Data Explorer (formerly MarketLine)
This database compiles business information using primary and secondary research to create 10,000 company, 2,000 industry, and 50 country profiles. MarketLine includes daily updates of relevant news, comments and analysis, company history, and a SWOT analysis (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats) within company profiles.
Statista
Search for user-friendly statistical tables and infographics on more than 80,000 topics drawn from over 22,500 sources, covering market and consumer data and many more areas of interest. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

For best results please use Chrome for this database.
IBISWorld
Search hundreds of U.S. and state industry reports, including Core NAICS, Industry Market Research, Reports on the Business Environment, Industry Risk Ratings, and Global Industry Research.

More Company Sources

Citing Business Sources (Articles, Annual Reports, Mintel, IBIS, etc.)

APA 7th ed. Citation for Business Sources
This comprehensive guide offers example citations for a wide range of specialized business resources—including analyst reports, company and industry profiles, market research, datasets, and trade publications—formatted according to APA 7th edition. Created by a team of business librarians, it addresses citation challenges specific to proprietary databases like IBISWorld, Mintel, Statista, and WRDS, among others. Whether you're citing a SWOT analysis from Global Data Explorer, a cross-tab from MRI Simmons, or a 10-K from EDGAR, this guide helps you cite it clearly and correctly. A go-to resource for business students, faculty, and researchers navigating complex citation scenarios.

SPURS Tutorials

Instructions for Personal and Interpersonal Knowledge – SPuRS Advanced

Introduction to Secondary Marketing Resources at WMU
Learn how to use IBISWorld, Mintel, and Statista to research U.S. industry trends, consumer behavior, and local market data.
Introduction to International Secondary Market Research at WMU
Learn how to find international market and consumer data using two of our most powerful tools: 1) Statista, for country-specific statistics and global consumer preferences and 2) Global Data Explorer, for international industry reports.