For your assignment, you have been asked to include at least 20 sources, at least 10 of which must be academic. While you may find more than 10 academic sources (like journal articles, conference proceedings, technical papers, and more), your research may benefit from considering other industry sources, like trade magazines, annual reports, and news articles. While academic sources tend to examine topics very closely and in depth, industry sources often provide a broader overview of concepts, emerging trends, and statistics.
CISA was named the National Coordinator for Critical Infrastructure Security and Resilience; as an institution, it is responsible for assessing progress to improve security priorities and resiliency across the 16 critical infrastructure agencies, identifies emerging threats, and recommends measures to improve cybersecurity. Its alerts and advisories may be particularly helpful for assessing risks and gaps.
The U.S. National Science Foundation Directorate for Computer and Information Science and Engineering (NSF CISE) performs fundamental research across a wide range of institutions, including research centers and community-based organizations. CISE has regular news and resources from the NSF.
The FTC is the only federal agency with both consumer protection and competition jurisdiction in broad sectors of the economy. It regularly investigates consumer protection issues, including cybersecurity incidents, data breaches, and privacy violations. Their reports, lawsuits, and policy updates can provide insight for consequences of poor cybersecurity practices.
Established in 1901, NIST is one of America's oldest physical science laboratories and is now part of the U.S. Department of Commerce. NIST researches many topics, including artificial intelligence, cybersecurity and privacy, electronics, information technology, materials, nanotechnology, and more.
Gartner is a business and technology research advisory firm. Its reports, such as the Magic Quadrant and various marketing research topics provide Influential analyses of tech vendors, tools, and trends - which may be helpful for understanding market adoption and technology maturity.
IBM's annual threat report detailing insights and observations obtained from monitoring over 150 billion security events per day in more than 130 countries, which are useful for grasping the challenges and successes global security teams are facing.
Mandiant is a cybersecurity firm that recently became a subsidiary of Google. Its annual M-Trends Report details observations and analysis of the dynamic threat landscape, and provides actionable guidance to enhance security measures.
A bimonthly magazine from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, reviewing the newest technologies and their commercial, social, and political impacts - making it a great resource for both broadly understanding trends and more niche topics and tech.
The SysAdmin, Audit, Network, Security (SANS) Institute launched in 1989 as a cooperative for information security thought leadership. Their white papers are free to access after creating an account.
Authored by researchers at Stanford, this annual report provides insight to usage culture, evolving technologies, and the economic impact of artificial intelligence.
A comprehensive, annual report on real-world breaches, attack tactics, and threats in the public sector, small businesses, finance, healthcare, manufacturing, and retail sectors. Highly cited by both industry professionals and academics.
Trade magazines are published by industry professionals and writers. While they aren't academic, they provide a glimpse of new tech and trends in the industry. They may occasionally cite research or statistics, which can broaden your search for academic sources like journal articles.
To find trade magazine articles in Academic Search Complete, first run your search using your keywords. Then, click the "Source Type" filter at the top of the page, and check off "Trade Magazines." Your search results will then be filtered to just trade magazine articles.
This is a multi-disciplinary, full-text database which includes 4,000 peer-reviewed journals and indexing and abstracts for more than 9,000 journals.
To find trade magazines in ProQuest Central, go down to the "Source Type" filter and check the "Trade Journals" box.
ProQuest Central combines the complete content of over thirty of the most heavily used ProQuest databases across all major subject areas, with deep coverage in business, health and medical, news, social sciences, arts and humanities, and science and technology. It provides access to scholarly journals, high value market research, country, economic, and industry reports, pre-print working papers, full-text dissertations, and a vast number of newspapers, professional journals, and general interest periodicals.
