Data and Statistical Sources: Foreign Countries and Non-Governmental Organizations.
This guide lists databases and web sites that provide users with statistics and/or data that can be used for reference and/or analysis.
General
- unicefThis page includes economic and social statistics on the countries and territories of the world, with particular reference to children’s well-being, Subjects covered include; demographic, education, health, and economics
- GlobalStatThe European University Institute provides this resource that provides statistical information on globalization and development. The list of sources could lead to additional information
Countries
- CANSIM This link opens in a new windowCANSIM is Statistics Canada's key socioeconomic database. Updated daily, CANSIM provides fast and easy access to a large range of the latest statistics available in Canada.
Business & Economics
- International Monetary Fund eLibrary Data This link opens in a new windowThis database provides statistics on international and domestic finances of countries since 1948. Datasets include International Financial Statistics, Balance of Payment Statistics, Government Finance Statistics, and Direction of Trade Statistics.
- UN Comtrade (United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database) This link opens in a new windowA collection of data on International Merchandise Trade Statistics from the United Nations Statistics Division. Includes 1.75 billion trade records since 1962, analytical and historical data, and more.
- UNCTADstat (United Nations Conference on Trade and Development Statistics) This link opens in a new windowEconomic data collected from national and international sources spanning several decades covering International trade. economic trends, foreign investment, population and labor statistics, and more.
- World DataBank This link opens in a new windowA searchable database of more than 700 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups covering the time period 1960 to one year from today. Data from the World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world.