Covers music and musicians of all types and time periods; includes bibliographies, composers' worklists, links to related sites, audio and music examples. Provides access to Grove Music Online (incorporating the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz), as well as The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. This subscription is limited to eight simultaneous users. Please logout when finished.
The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments by Laurence Libin (Editor-In-Chief); Anne Beetem Acker; Carolyn Bryant; J. Richard Haefer; James B. Kopp; Jeremy Montagu
Call Number: ML102.I5 N48 2014 (Music and Dance Reference)
Publication Date: 2014-12-08
The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, 2nd edition, is the largest, most comprehensive reference publication on musical instruments of the world yet produced. Thirty years ago, the three-volume first edition of the dictionary was met with wide acclaim and went on to become an essential library research tool. This second edition reflects the growth of the scope and methodologies of the field of organology in the last three decades. At five volumes, the second edition provides greatly expanded coverage of instruments from around the world and their builders, with special attention to electronic and experimental instruments; the human body as instrument; the history and techniques of instrument design and manufacture; performance practice; and scholars whose work has shaped our understanding of musical instruments. The dictionary compiles essential information about the most important instruments worldwide, as well as a representative selection of lesser-known instruments of particular significance. Its core content, articles on instruments and their makers, is expanded and supported with articles addressing the cultural role of instruments throughout history and across the globe, with special attention to the development of organology in the thirty years since the first edition. Through the systematic study of the history of musical instruments and their design, technologies, and functions, the dictionary seeks to map the directions in which this field is growing in the 21st century, and to encourage further research. The dictionary's articles are supplemented by over 600 images and 190 musical examples, an index, abbreviations lists, and list of contributors. . With well-researched, informative articles by over 1000 authors, including most of the top scholars in the field, The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments is an essential tool not just for students and scholars of organology, musicology, ethnomusicology and anthropology, but for performers and the general public as well.
A Dictionary for the Modern Flutist by Susan J. Maclagan; Trevor Wye (Foreword by)
Call Number: ML102.F58 M33 2009 (Music and Dance Reference)
Publication Date: 2009-05-11
A Dictionary for the Modern Flutist presents clear and concise definitions of more than 1,500 common flute-related terms that a player of the Boehm-system flute may encounter. Fully illustrated with more than 100 images, the entries contain descriptions of words related to all aspects of the flute: flute types, flute parts, flute repair, playing techniques, acoustics, articulations, intonation, common ornaments, flutemaking, flute history, flute music books, and more. Susan Maclagan has thoroughly researched and classified each term, including important flute words that have caused confusion or not been clearly defined previously, listing them alphabetically with concise, in-depth definitions. Carefully labeled illustrations for many flute types, parts, mechanisms, and accessories help to make the definitions easier to visualize. The entries also consist of brief biographies of more than 50 significant names in the flute community worldwide. Several appendixes provide further information on subjects like flute classifications, types of modern Boehm-system flutes and their parts, key and tone hole names, head joint options, and orchestra and opera audition excerpts. Two articles, Checking Your Flute Tuning and Scale by the flutist and pedagogue Trevor Wye who also contributed the foreword and Flute Clutches by the historian David Shorey, are also included, as well as an extensive bibliography."
Call Number: ML128.B26 L56 2002 (Music and Dance Reference)
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
In recent years several research guides have become available dealing with composers, and also numerous publications listing available sheet music have surfaced, but very little has been printed concerning research on individual instruments. Into this void now appears Dr. Lipori's work, which should ease the pain of researching for bassoonists everywhere, as it contains a comprehensive listing of articles on bassoon related topics from important sources.