Counselor Education & Counseling Psychology
Library Workshops and Events
WMU Libraries host many workshops and other events on topics of particular interest to graduate students. The Library Events Calendar gives listings, descriptions, and registration information.
Swain Education Library
The Gary and Rita Swain Education Library is located on the second floor of Sangren Hall.
Core databases
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowCovers world-wide literature in psychology and related disciplines. Journal articles, technical reports, books, book chapters, and dissertations are included. Coverage: 1806-present. Updated weekly.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndexes scholarly literature in the natural and social sciences. Use this to get extensive inter-disciplinary access to journal articles and also to find out which articles are being cited by other scholars . Cited references from 1970-present, records from 1788-present.
NOTE: WMU users do not have access to SciVal through Scopus - Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowThis service from Google searches scholarly literature, including articles, theses, books and technical reports, and "gray literature" from many areas of research. Some materials are free, some will be available to WMU users by clicking on "Article Linker" while others may require a fee. Use this source in addition to library databases for a more complete search of scholarly literature.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowThis is the core index in the field of Education. Includes citations with abstracts for over 2,000 journals and more than 450,000 reports in education and related fields.Covers 1966-present. This database is also available from the US government.
WMU Librarysearch
You can use the Library's Catalog Advanced Search to find articles on your topic in the WMU collection.
If you want peer-reviewed articles or articles limited by a specific date range, or limited to a specific subject (topic, discipline), filter boxes are located on the left column. Then select the green filter button to filter your search. Library Search is interdisciplinary and will search all disciplines. In many cases, using an interdisciplinary search you will discover articles from subject areas you find valuable but had not considered prior to the search. That’s a good thing!
Select this link for more information and tutorials about using Library Search
