- University Libraries Databases
- WMU Research Guides
- Sociology
- Find Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Sociology
Why Use Reference Sources for Background Information?
Dictionaries and encyclopedias help you find background information -- an overview, vocabulary, trends, and issues -- related to the topic. Once you know background information about a topic, it's easier to decide what key words to use when searching for information sources (books, articles, etc.) about your topic.
Scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries, like what you find in University Libraries, are scholarly resources written by an experts in the field and reviewed for accuracy in a way that other sources, like Wikipedia articles, are not.
Selected Sociology Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
This is only a sample of sociology dictionaries and encyclopedias the Libraries has. To find more, search in Library Search for the terms sociology and encyclopedia, or sociology and dictionary.
21st Century Sociology: a Reference Handbook by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 1412916089Publication Date: 2006-11-17
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology by
Named a Best Reference Work for 2009 by Library Journal The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology is published in both print and online. Arranged across eleven volumes in A-Z format, it is the definitive reference source for students, researchers, and academics in the field. This ground-breaking project brings together specially commissioned entries written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers. It provides: "This is an example of a reference book turned into an e-product intelligently and in a way that transcends the print." - Library Journal An essential reference for expert and newcomer alike, with entries ranging from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics Provides clear, concise, expert definitions and explanations of the key concepts Presents materials that have historically defined the discipline, but also more recent developments, significantly updating the store of sociological knowledge Introduces sociological theories and research that have developed outside of the United States and Western Europe Offers sophisticated cross-referencing and search facilities Features a timeline, lexicon by subject area, bibliography, and index 11 Volumes www.sociologyencyclopedia.com Updating
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 1405165510Publication Date: 2007-01-31
The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology by
Providing an authoritative and comprehensive overview of the classical and the contemporary, this volume is an indispensable guide to the vibrant and expanding field of sociology. Featuring over 600 entries, from concise definitions to discursive essays, written by leading international academics, the Dictionary offers a truly global perspective, examining both American and European traditions and approaches. Entries cover schools, theories, theorists and debates, with substantial articles on all key topics in the field. While recognising the richness of historical sociological traditions, the Dictionary also looks forward to new and evolving influences such as cultural change, genetics, globalization, information technologies, new wars and terrorism. Most entries incorporate references for further reading and a cross-referencing system enables easy access to related areas. This Dictionary is an invaluable reference work for students and academics alike and will help to define the field of sociology in years to come.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 1281155926Publication Date: 2008-05-22
A Dictionary of Sociology by
A consistent best-seller, the wide-ranging and authoritative Dictionary of Sociology was first published in 1994 and contains more than 2,500 entries on the terminology, methods, concepts, and thinkers in the field, as well as from the related fields of psychology, economics, anthropology,philosophy, and political science.For this fourth edition, Professor John Scott has conducted a thorough review of all entries to ensure that they are concise, focused, and up to date. Revisions reflect current intellectual debates and social conditions, particularly in relation to global and multi-cultural issues. New entries coverrelevant contemporary concepts, such as climate change, social media, terrorism, and intersectionality, as well as key living sociologists.This Dictionary is both an invaluable introduction to sociology for beginners, and an essential source of reference for more advanced students and teachers.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 0199683581Publication Date: 2014-10-01
International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences by
The entirely new International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition. Like its predecessors, the set meets the needs of high school and college students, researchers inside and outside academia, and lay readers in public libraries. The new set highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features nearly 3, 000 entirely new articles and important biographies contributed by thousands of scholars (including several Nobel prize winners) from around the world on a wide array of global topics, including: achievement testing, censorship, personality measurement, aging, income distribution, foreign aid (political and economic aspects), food (world problems, consumption patterns), cultural adaptation, comparative health-care systems, terrorism, political correctness, agricultural innovation, legislation of morality, sexual violence and exploitation, white collar crime. The new 2nd edition also features biographical profiles of the major contributors to the study of the social sciences, past and present. Highlights of the new set include: 2, 990 articles contributed by a team of international scholars, including hundreds of entries covering the increasingly influential fields of economics and statistics Written for researchers inside and outside acad
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780028659657Publication Date: 2007-11-09
The Penguin Dictionary of Sociology by
Written by three eminent professors, it has been updated to reflect the shifts of sociological thought in the last five years, making it the most comprehensive, authoritative and up-to-date dictionary available. It is essential reading for all students and teachers of sociology and other related courses - and also the general reader.
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 0141013753Publication Date: 2006-08-29
Online Reference Databases
Try these databases to search through many encyclopedias at once:
Meet Your Librarian
Carrie Leatherman
She/Her
Librarian:
Office: Waldo Library Room 1048 (First Floor)
Office Phone: (269) 387-5142