Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CELCIS

Finding information for your assignment

Finding Information 

For this assignment you will use two different approaches to finding articles. 

  • We will use databases to find information about authors
  • We will use databases to find information about specific short stories 
  • A lot of the information in these databases cannot be found by using Library Search. 
Helpful hints on using databases
  • You can find all databases from the library homepage on the A-Z database list. 
  • If you are off campus you will be prompted to log in with your BroncoNet ID and password for these databases and all electronic library resources. 

Watch this video then take a short survey on selecting databases. 

Step1. Biographical information

Step 1.

Find biographical information about authors

You will use two databases to find information about authors. 

Dictionary of Literary Biography

Dictionary of Literary Biography 

1. Type the name of the author (lastname, firstname) 

2. Select "Person by or about" from drop down menu

3. In "By Content Type" select "Biographies"

The search page: 

Disctionary of literary biography search page showing henry, o. and by person or about and biographies selected

 

The results page

1. Click on the title of the article you want to read. 

Results page showing 118 results for Sydney Porter
 
Reading an article

1. use the tools in the upper right hand corner to save, download, print, or cite this document. 

2. Use the tools in the pdf reader to move through the document. 

A sample article with the tools underlined inthe upper right corner and the navigation tools in the pdf reader circled.

Literary Reference Center

Literary Reference Center

On the search page, 

1. Search by author "lastname, first".

2. Select "SA Subject Author" from dropdown menu. 

3. Select Biographies from "Document Type" 

search page showing henry, o. by subject author and biography document type

 
The results page

1. There are 6 articles.

2. Each article has a link to read the full text. 

The results page shows 6 results with html links to access the articles.

 

The article page

1. The tools on the right hand side allow you to print, save, email, help cite the document. 

2. You need to scroll down on this page to get to the full article. 

the article page with tools on the right and an arrow indicating you need to scroll down to get the the article.

Step 2. Information about a short story

Step 2. Information about a short story

Literary criticism is the study of literature. Use these databases to find information about a specific short story. You will use three databases to find information. 

Poetry Short Story Collectioo

Poetry & Short Story Collection

1. Type the title of short story

2. Be sure to read only literary criticism. 

Do not read a review or the short story itself. 

 

search results showing different types of articles.

 
The article page

1. Click on the pdf to get the full text.

2. Tools on the right allow you to cite print email, etc... 

click on the pdf to get the full text. tools on the right allow you to cite print email, etc...

Literature Criticism Online

Literature Criticism Online

On the search page

1. Search by short story title

2. Limit to Literature Criticism

3. Click on title to access the article.