Skip to Main Content

Primary Documents in Political Science

American Folklife Center

Logo of and link to the American Folklkife Center web site

Located at the Library of Congress, the American Folklife Center contains collections of folk cultural material from all 50 states and the District of Columbia.  There are over 4,000 collections of images, sounds, written accounts, interviews, and more items of cultural documentation.  This site is rich in primary sources relating to American history.

American Memory at the Library of Congress

Logo of and link to the Library of Congress

The Library of Congress's American Memory site offers multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, sound recordings, motion pictures, and texts. It includes over 100 collections, including, for example, African-American pamphlets, Chautauqua flyers, Depression-era photographs, Coca-Cola advertising, and the papers of Alexander Graham Bell.

Prints and Photographs Collection

Historical photograph of a Depression-era family.

The Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog is a searchable collection of over one million digital images representing a cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress.

National Archives

Logo of and link to the National Archives web site

Explore the Web site of the National Archives  and Records Administration to find digitized primary documents and images from different eras in American history that are in the National Archives collections.

Meet Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Carrie Leatherman
She/Her
Librarian:
Waldo Library, First Floor, Rm 1009
(269) 387-5142