MUS 2700/2710: Music History I and II
Online Bibliographies
See also Music History & Musicology.
- RISM - Répertoire International des Sources Musicales This link opens in a new window
The online-catalogue offered here contains around 700,000 references almost exclusively to music manuscripts. These records pass on to posterity the works of some 25,000 composers. The sources are preserved in the libraries and archives of 32 countries.
Research Guides
These books list articles, books, and other sources about music of a specific medium or genre. They are shelved in Reference at ML 128, alphabetical by medium and genre.
Some examples:
Chamber Music by
Chamber Music: A Research and Information Guide is a reference tool for anyone interested in chamber music. It is not a history or an encyclopedia but a guide to where to find answers to questions about chamber music. The third edition adds nearly 600 new entries to cover new research since publication of the previous edition in 2002. Most of the literature is books, articles in journals and magazines, dissertations and theses, and essays or chapters in Festschriften, treatises, and biographies. In addition to the core literature obscure citations are also included when they are the only studies in a particular field. In addition to being printed, this volume is also for the first time available online. The online environment allows for information to be updated as new research is introduced. This database of information is a "live" resource, fully searchable, and with active links. Users will have unlimited access, annual revisions will be made and a limited number of pages can be downloaded for printing.
Call Number: Electronic BookISBN: 0415994187Publication Date: 2010-01-11
The Concerto by
Twelve-tone and serial music were dominant forms of composition following World War II and remained so at least through the mid-1970s. In 1961, Ann Phillips Basart published the pioneering bibliographic work in the field.
Call Number: ML128.C84 L56 2006 (Reference)ISBN: 0415976197Publication Date: 2006-10-23
String Quartets by
This research guide is an annotated bibliography of sources dealing with the string quartet. This second edition is organized as in the original publication (chapters for general references, histories, individual composers, aspects of performance, facsimiles and critical editions, and miscellaneous topics) and has been updated to cover research since publication of the first edition. Listings in the previous volume have been updated to reflect the burgeoning interest in this genre (social aspects, newly issued critical editions, doctoral dissertations). It also offers commentary on online links, databases, and references.
Call Number: Electronic BookISBN: 9780415994170Publication Date: 2010-11-23
Bibliographies in the Library
The library has many bibliographies of music. Some are just lists of repertoire; some include more detailed information about works and composers.
Most of these are shelved in Reference at ML 128, alphabetically by medium (instrument, voice) and genre (chamber music, jazz, music theatre, etc.). A few examples:
Choral Repertoire by
Choral Repertoire is the definitive and comprehensive one-volume presentation of the canon of the Western choral tradition. Designed for practicing conductors and directors, students and teachers of choral music, amateur and professional singers, scholars, and interested vocal enthusiasts, it is an account of the complete choral output of the most significant composers of this genre throughout history. Organized by era (Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, Romantic, and Modern), Choral Repertoire covers general characteristics of each historical era; trends and styles unique to various countries; biographical sketches of over 500 composers; and performance annotations of more than 5,000 individual works. This book will be an essential guide to programming, a reference tool for program notes and other research, and, most importantly, a key resource for conductors, instructors, scholars, and students of choral music.
Call Number: Electronic BookISBN: 9780195327786Publication Date: 2009-04-07
Guide to the Pianist's Repertoire by
"The Hinson" has been indispensable for performers, teachers, and students. Now updated and expanded, it's better than ever, with 120 more composers, expertly guiding pianists to solo literature and answering the vital questions: What's available? How difficult is it? What are its special features? How does one reach the publisher? The "new Hinson" includes solo compositions of nearly 2,000 composers, with biographical sketches of major composers. Every entry offers description, publisher, number of pages, performance time, style and characteristics, and level of difficulty. Extensively revised, this new edition is destined to become a trusted guide for years to come.
Call Number: ML128.P3 H5 2000 (Reference)ISBN: 0253336465Publication Date: 2001-05-22
Guide to the Tuba Repertoire by
Guide to the Tuba Repertoire is the most comprehensive investigation ever undertaken into the literature and discography of any single musical instrument. Under the direction of R. Winston Morris and Daniel Perantoni, this publication represents more than 40 years of research by dozens of leading professionals throughout the world. The guide defines the current status of the tuba and documents its growth since its inception in 1835. Contributors are Ron Davis, Jeffrey Funderburk, David Graves, Skip Gray, Charles A. McAdams, R. Winston Morris, Mark A. Nelson, Timothy J. Northcut, Daniel Perantoni, Philip Sinder, Joseph Skillen, Kenyon Wilson, and Jerry A. Young.
Call Number: Electronic BookISBN: 0253347637Publication Date: 2006-11-08
Discographies
Discographies are basically bibliographies of recordings. They vary in subject and coverage. Some cover a specific genre or performer.
Discographies are shelved at ML 156-ML 156.9 in Reference and General Stacks. A few examples:
The Billboard Book of Top 40 R and B and Hip-Hop Hits by
This first edition of The Billboard Book Of Top-40 R&B & Hip-Hop Hits offers complete and authoritative chart information on the most popular rhythm and blues and hip-hop songs and artists to reach the top 40 positions on Billboard's R&B Singles chart from 1942 - the present. From the days of Louis Jordan and Bullmoose Jackson and his Buffalo Bearcats, swing, and World War II, Billboard began keeping tabs on the bestsellers in record stores in Harlem, New York. That Harlem Hit Parade chart of 1942, the starting point of this book, was Billboard's first accounting of the growing interest in a style of music that would come to be known as rhythm and blues or R&B. Throughout the '40s and early '50s, the R&B chart hosted a fair amount of pop crossover artists like The King Cole Trio and the Ink Spots and blues shouters like Wyononie Harris and Roy Brown. When rock 'n' roll revolutionized popular culture in the mid '50s, artists like Fats Domino, Little Richard, and Ray Charles were added to the charts as well. Grandmaster Flash/Melle Mel and the Furious Five were incorporated into these charts as well, bringing us up to today's artists like Mary J. Blige, Jay-Z, and Usher.
Call Number: ML156.4.B6 W45 2006 (Reference)ISBN: 0823082830Publication Date: 2005-11-01
Ella Fitzgerald by
Ella Fitzgerald is fondly remembered as America's First Lady of Song. She sang Dixieland, swing, blues and wonderful Broadway show tunes by the likes of George Gershwin and Cole Porter. She was one of America's greatest jazz singers and has left a memorable and highly listenable legacy of recorded songs. This volume is a complete discography of Ella Fitzgerald's music from her first recording with Chick Webb and His Orchestra to her last recorded soundtrack for the motion picture film The Setting Sun. Part One includes a chronological listing of all known recorded performances of both Chick Webb and Ella Fitzgerald; Part Two gives the complete contents of Ella's LPs and CDs, including track listings, titles (with lyricists and composers) and timings; Part Three is an alphabetical listing of all songs contained on all of Ella's records. Reviews of the movies in which Ella appeared and surveys of her career with the Decca, Verve and Pablo music companies are included. The book also has an index of album and CD recordings, and alphabetical references to composers, lyricists, and musicians.
Call Number: ML156.7.F594 J64 2001ISBN: 0786409061Publication Date: 2001-01-10
The Green Book of Songs by Subject by
Hailed by Library Journal as "an impressive feat" and "highly recommended" (with star), the new "Green Book Of Songs by Subject" is the unique, invaluable reference tool for music professionals, teachers, students, choral groups, public speakers, and others searching for lists of songs about particular concepts. Updated for 2002, the "Green Book" classifies over 35,000 songs by nearly 1,800 themes, such as patriotism, politics, cities, food, God, money, war, school, sports, history -- even 147 pages on 25 "love" themes ranging from "falling in love" to "get lost!" Praised by writers at USA Today, San Francisco Chronicle, Entertainment Tonight and BBC, the "Green Book" covers all genres and eras of music over the past 100 years, even offering novelty records, advertising jingles and children's songs. Listings include over 9,100 artists cross 24,000 albums on 1,500 labels - 86,000 listings in all. ALA/Booklist says, "Recommended... The only drawback is that it's hard to put down." Categories are cross-referenced; a new index offers 4,000 search terms.1,569 pages. $64.95 paperback, $79.95 hardcover. Published by Professional Desk References, 5543 Edmondson Pike, #183, Nashville, TN 37211. Toll-free: 888-335-7664 or 615.832.1942. Fax: 615-311-410. Sample pages available via www.greenbookof songs.com. Wholesalers include Ingram, Baker and Taylor and others.
Call Number: ML156.4.P6 G73 2002 (Reference)ISBN: 0939735105Publication Date: 2002-07-01
Metropolitan Opera on Record by
The Metropolitan Opera on Record: A Discography of the Commercial Recordings is a comprehensive listing of all the commercial sound recordings involving the Chorus and Orchestra of the Metropolitan Opera, one of the world's leading musical organizations. Over 900 recording sessions are listed chronologically, starting in 1906 and continuing through the last digital recordings conducted by James Levine in 1998. Entries include excerpts and complete recordings from more than 120 operas in various formats, representing more than 380 artists.The recordings are fully annotated, including the session date and location, the primary source of information, the opera title and composer, matrix number and speed of the recording, the artists performing, the recording company name and number, the format, and the release dates. In addition, Fellers provides a fascinating history of the Met recordings, from the first Leeds & Catlin recordings in the early 1900s to the digital recordings of the 1990s. Additional information on the Opera House String Orchestra and the Radio Broadcasts are included, as well as complete indexes listing the works by composer, title, and artist.
Call Number: ML156.4.O46 F4 2010ISBN: 9780810876644Publication Date: 2010-06-11
