Thesaurus of approved art and architecture terminology researched and compiled by the Getty Research Institute.

Well-researched index to geographic locations provides hierarchical information including continent, country, and variant spellings.

Compilation of artist names gives birth dates, country of origin, and variant spellings.

Comprehensive, easy to navigate timeline covering world art history from 20,000 BC to 2000 AD. Works from the Metropolitan Museum of Art collection are used to illustrate the site. Includes maps, index, first-time users guide, thematic essays, bibliographies, and special topics. Beautifully illustrated and designed site.

This resource allows the user to search for people, history, events, and maps by categories such as science, culture, religion, and politics. Also included are well written essays. Completely interactive. Coverage includes the entire world.

The Art History department at the University of Michigan developed this site linking users to a variety of Web art and art history sites. Includes information on art schools and departments, online exhibitions, museums, informational pages, and more.

Electronic magazine of representational art. Includes US and European exhibition information.

Reference tool can be searched by artist name. Gives references to books and periodicals about the artist, museums owning works by the artist, dealers, and auction records.

All purpose Web site for the living artist, art educator, and researcher. Contains artist profiles, information on at suppliers, chat room, blog, and images. Create your own artist profile and user account.