WMU Research Guides: Engineering: Materials Science

Materials Science Databases

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Use Engineering Village to search for journal articles and conference papers on materials science.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
This extensive chemistry index supplies abstracts of journal articles, conferences, dissertations, technical reports, patents, substance records, formula, structure and reaction searching. New features available on this new platform include a new computer-aided synthetic design module, MethodsNow, PatentPak, NMR spectral data from BIORAD, and more.
For best results please use Chrome or Firefox.

Click here for one-time registration.
SciFinder-n adoption tips for new users:
• See how to Migrate your current saved answers and alerts from SciFinder®
• Access the SciFinder-n quick start guide for a step-by-step product demo
• Watch SciFindern How-To videos

Materials Reference Sources

ASM International Materials Collection
Includes the ASM Handbook, possibly the world's most comprehensive reference on metals.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (2021)
Important! To access all of the Handbook contents, you need to create a "personal workspace" within the online platform. To do this, click the "Create a personal workspace" link below for directions.
Create a personal workspace for the CRC Handbook
Encyclopedia of Materials
This encyclopedia available covers all of materials science and technology, focusing on the following areas: Functional Phenomena, Structural Phenomena, Fundamental Core Theory, Structural Materials, Polymers and Materials Chemistry, Functional Materials.
Engineered Materials Handbook (1995)
If you work with polymers, ceramics, or composites, then this is the all purpose reference book you need. Culled from the four-volume Engineered Materials Handbook Series, this single desk edition provides basic property data and an outline of fabrication methods for each material.
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology (2003)
This reference contains an enormous amount of critical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. Featuring physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties.

Knovel Engineering eReference Books This link opens in a new window
Knovel Engineering e-books provides access to hundreds of authoritative engineering reference books providing materials property data and industrial process information. Search for relevant books using keywords relating to what you are looking for.

Materials and Design - The Art and Science of Material Selection in Product Design (2nd Edition)
This book explores the role of materials and materials processing in product design, with a particular emphasis on creating both desired aesthetics and functionality.
Materials Selection in Mechanical Design (4th edition - Ashby)
This book develops a systematic procedure for selecting materials and processes, leading to the subset that best matches the requirements of a design.

SciFinder Search Issues

Please note that we are noticing some very poor search results showing up in SciFinder-n database. The search algorithm appears to be broken. If you run a keyword search, make sure to include the word "AND" between your keywords. For example: Zirconia AND dental. Otherwise, your search results will not be very relevant. We have notified the SciFinder-n vender and will post an updates as we get them. 1/15/25 (Eckel)

Subject and Course Guides

Engineering

Materials Science Databases

Materials Reference Sources

SciFinder Search Issues