- University Libraries Databases
- WMU Research Guides
- Mathematics
- Finding sources
Mathematics
Find sources
Find good keywords
- Keyword tool: This tool from the University of Texas at Austin guides you through the process of creating a keyword search.
- Using Boolean logic: This pdf from the University of Toronto explains how to use AND, OR, NOT, " ", * , and other modifiers in your search.
Choose a database (or use Library Search)
- Databases: specialized resources to find scholarly sources about a specific area, such as sciences, agriculture, medicine, etc.
- Library Search: search the entire library's holdings, including books and articles.
Evaluate your sources
How do you know if your sources are credible?
- Watch this video from North Carolina State University Library about evaluating sources.
- Consult this guide from the University of Texas Libraries.
Get sources from outside WMU
If a source you need is not available in our library, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Get help
If you aren't finding the articles you need, or are unable to access the articles you find, contact a librarian.
- email me
- make an appointment to meet virtually or in-person
- contact the library with email or live chat
Databases
Math databases
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Begun by Mathematical Reviews, MathSciNet covers the world’s mathematical literature since 1940 including journals, conference proceedings, and books. It also provides links from reviews to the text of more than 435,000 online articles in over 870 journals, although full-text, article-level access usually requires an institutional subscription to that journal. MathSciNet also incorporates a citation tracking database.
- Project Euclid This link opens in a new windowDeveloped and deployed by the Cornell University Library and jointly managed by Cornell and the Duke University Press, Project Euclid provides access to high-quality, peer-reviewed journals, monographs, and conference proceedings in the field of theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics.
- arXiv Mathematics This link opens in a new windowBrowse by category or date, search within the arXiv math archive or find papers with a unique identifier.Note: The information on the arXiv has been submitted the article authors, while some may have been refereed there is no peer review required for articles in the arXiv.
Interdisciplinary databases
The databases below are good places to look for articles and books about topics in the sciences, but are not good for searching mathematics literature.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Database for scientific research that contains the citations and abstracts of more than 1,800 Elsevier journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences as well as selected full-text articles. ScienceDirect can be searched as a database or browsed by individual title. Coverage varies.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndexes scholarly literature in the natural and social sciences. Use this to get extensive inter-disciplinary access to journal articles and also to find out which articles are being cited by other scholars . Cited references from 1970-present, records from 1788-present. NOTE: WMU users do not have access to SciVal through Scopus
- Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Indexes virtually all doctoral dissertations and many masters theses produced in the U.S. since 1861. Dissertations from other countries date back to 1637. Abstracts available from 1980. Full-text for dissertations are being added continually. Most since 1997 are full-text, though some authors choose not to make their work available. Print and microfilm copies are offered for a fee, but request the item via Interlibrary Loan before paying for a copy.
New search functionality includes metadata from Clarivate's Citation Connection. To ensure your search results take advantage of this new functionality, please add “AND ref(1)“ to your search terms.
