Medieval Studies: Manuscripts -digital collections and catalogs
Select Catalogs, Handlists and Guides for Manuscript and Library collections
This list includes important regional repositories in the U.S. and some international consortiums in Europe which are less commonly known.
Digital Manuscripts and Editions at WMU and elsewhere
Selected digital image collections and digitized edited texts either purchased by WMU or developed by consortia. Too many libraries have digitized manuscripts to list here.
- Acta Sanctorum (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains the complete texts, which were published between 1643 and 1940, of all the lives of the ancient, medieval and modern saints. Serves as an electronic index for 68 volumes of saints' lives.
- Brepols Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature This link opens in a new window
The Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature (ACLL) is a full-text database of the corpus of Latin literature produced in Celtic-speaking Europe, together with the Latin works of the Continental ‘perigrini’, from the period 400-1200 A.D. The database contains more than five hundred Latin works by over a hundred known and unknown authors, spanning the fields of theology, liturgy, computistics, grammar, hagiography, poetry and historiography, and including legal texts, charters, inscriptions, etc.
The ACLL is part of Brepolis Latin Complete, a cluster of databases relating to the study of Latin.
- Brepols Aristoteles Latinus Database This link opens in a new window
The Aristoteles Latinus Database (ALD) contains, first of all, those texts that have been critically edited in the printed Aristoteles Latinus series. In January 2017 the database has been enriched with Latin translations of Aristotle’s works published outside the Aristoles Latinus series, with the translations of Greek commentaries on Aristotle and with other texts associated with the Corpus Aristotelicum.
The ALD is part of Brepolis Latin Complete, a cluster of databases relating to the study of Latin.
- CORSAIR, the Online Collection of the Pierpont Morgan LibraryCORSAIR is the gateway to one of the largest repositories of medieval images on the Internet, providing links to more than 15,000 digitized images from the Morgan's collection of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts. Users may page through every illustrated leaf within a manuscript, or search for individual images by place or date of creation, artist's name, illustration type, and subject.
- Dictionary of Old English Corpus This link opens in a new windowThis database gathers 3037 individual texts comprising a complete record of Old English. Arranged as a contextual dictionary, words or word fragment searches lead to hits everywhere these appear in an OE text.
- English Poetry (600-1900)Essentially the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th. Over 160,000 poems by more than 1,250 poets drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources. This subscription is limited to four simultaneous users. Please logout when finished.
- Library of Latin Texts This link opens in a new window
The Library of Latin Texts includes classical texts from the Bibliotheca scriptorum Romanorum Teubneriana, patristic and medieval texts from the Corpus Christianorum as well as the Vulgate, the Ecumenical Councils and Gratian's Decretum.
The LLT is part of Brepolis Latin Complete, a cluster of databases relating to the study of Latin.
- Manuscripta MedievaliaMakes digitally available 75,000 manuscripts held in German libraries. Navigation in German.
- Medieval Travel Writing This link opens in a new windowSearchable collection of medieval manuscripts from 25 libraries across Europe, dating from the 13th to 16th centuries, Includes color illustrations, extensive and authoritative scholarly explanations, and maps.
- Middle English Compendium This link opens in a new windowThis connects three major Middle English electronic resources: the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, as well as providing links to other digital collections and catalogs.
- Brepols Cross Database Searchtool This link opens in a new window
This interface allows the user to search various Latin full-text databases simultaneously, namely the Library of Latin Texts, Monumenta Germaniae Historica, Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature and the Aristoteles Latinus Database.
The CDS is part of Brepolis Latin Complete, a cluster of databases relating to the study of Latin.
- Parker Library on the Web This link opens in a new window
Parker Library on the Web is an open source digital collection of medieval manuscripts held by the Parker Library at Corpus Christi College at Cambridge University, UK. 538 manuscripts (many of them famous) are available as high-resolution full-text with extensive tagging and complete codicological descriptions and a wide variety of features which enhance study of these materials.
- Patrologia Latina This link opens in a new windowThe electronic version of of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the indexes published between 1862 and 1865.
- Roman Law LibraryIustinianus Project hosted at the University of Grenoble.
- Vulgate, Latin searchableSETIS
The Sydney Electronic Text and Image Service
WMU Medieval Studies Collections
The Special Collections and Rare Book Department at Waldo Library has manuscripts (by virtue of WMU's permanent loan agreement through the Center for Cistercian and Monastic Studies and Gethsemani Abbey, Trappist, KY) and facsimilies of medieval manuscripts available for consultation from 9-5 Monday to Friday when classes are in session.