Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and Rare Book Department: Schedule a visit

Outlines major collections, provides links to finding aids and describes services of the Special Collections and Rare Book Department at Western Michigan University.

Things to know this week

For appointments, please email or call 269/387-5220 at least one business day in advance.

Zhang Legacy Collection Center's hours are listed at:
http://www.wmich.edu/library/hours

For further information see:  https://wmich.edu/library/visit/zhang

Planning a class visit

Students consulting rare books during a course visitClass meetings to use the collections can be scheduled by contacting Susan Steuer. 

If you'd like more information about ways to use our materials in instruction, please consult the instruction page or email Susan Steuer.

Visiting for Research

Researcher taking notes on a manuscript

All researchers are welcome to collections at the Zhang Legacy Collections Center during open hours from 8 am  to 5 pm, Tuesday to Friday and Saturday from 9 am -4 pm during academic sessions.  Because of the type of storage we use, it is will be the best use of your time to let us know what you would like to see prior to your visit.  Researchers can also make appointments to make sure materials and staff will be available.  Please contact Susan Steuer or email  arch-collect@wmich.edu for further information.

Rare Books, Cistercian & Monastic Studies, Medieval Studies

Profile Photo
Susan Steuer
Librarian:
Zhang Legacy Collections Center
Western Michigan University
Kalamazoo, MI 49008
269/387-5250