Textbooks for selected undergraduate, high-enrollment classes are available for use through the WMU Library Course Reserve service.
Textbooks are available at the Waldo Library Circulation desk, unless the location is otherwise specified.
These textbooks may be checked out for a period of 24 hours.
Please present your Bronco card to check out material.
You can use Library Search to look for textbooks on reserve at WMU Libraries. Search for your books by title, author, or course. Make sure to select the "textbooks" button below the search box.
If you need help locating appropriate resources to achieve your learning objectives you may want to consult with the librarian liaison for your department. If you don't know who your liaison is consult the Subject Librarians Directory.
If you choose to use a library e-book as a class text, your librarian can help with the following:
Listed below are some of the major e-book collections available through the WMU Libraries.
Contains digital images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War. The collection is indexed at the British Library website. The index (in print) and images (on microfilm) are also available in Waldo Library.
A collection of over 140,000 books from over 150 publishers covering all academic disciplines. Mobile device users can download the BlueFire reader for offline reading on iOS and Android devices, or use Adobe Digital Editions on desktop or laptop computers.
For additional instruction about using eBook Central, click here.
A collection of over 25,000 electronic books that are searchable and readable online. Create a free account to save lists, make notes or in other ways customize EBSCOHost eBooks for your own use.
Users can download Adobe Digital Editions to download complete ebooks when available, and to use features such as bookmarking and text highlighting.
Instructors may select readings and other materials for a class to be placed on electronic reserve. Electronic books, book chapters, articles, streaming videos, and other text based and media materials may be placed on reserve. Books and other physical materials may be placed on reserve for short-term checkout at the circulation desks of Waldo, Education, or Music and Dance libraries.
If you would like to request that the Libraries purchase a copy of a print textbook used in your class you may use this form to recommend a new book for purchase.
E-books in the Springer collections are availble for purchase in print to WMU affiliated users for the discounted price of $24.99. These books, primarily in the Sciences, make affordable options for faculty to use for their classes. Books available for this program have the "MyCopy Softcover Edition" link in the puchase options section. More information about MyCopy from Springer is available on the Springer website.
The following resources provide access to encyclopedias, directories, biographical information, etc. These resources often provide useful definitions, and background information for students. Usually you may link to the complete resource or to an individual entry.
Full-text online from over 400 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books. Search a topic, build a concept map, or browse information sources organized by subject. Find text, images, sound files, sortable data tables and more.
Database of directories with the ability to sort, export, and print results. Directories include the Brands and Their Companies, Business Rankings Annual, Directories in Print, Directory of Libraries and Special Information Centers, Encyclopedia of Associations, Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media, Government Research Directory, Market Share Reporter, Publishers Directory, Research Centers Directory, and Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies.
Online reference books in business, education, law, medicine, religion and social science.
Knovel Engineering e-books provides access to hundreds of authoritative engineering reference books providing materials property data and industrial process information with interactive capabilities that include data searching and retrieval into Excel, interactive graphing, unit conversion and a widget that makes it easy to access and use these features from anywhere.
More than 200 dictionaries, encyclopedias, language reference and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. In addition to text, some sources include maps, illustrations, and Web links. Users can search one resource, a group of selected resources, or all of them at once. Regularly updated.
This subscription is limited to five simultaneous users. Please log out when finished.
Included in this database are the following titles:
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
The Oxford Classical Dictionary
The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium
The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
The following resources contain collections of streaming videos in a variety of subjects. For a more comprehensive list of all streaming videos provided by WMU Libraries please see the Streaming Video Sources Guide.
Alexander Street Video is a single cross-searchable platform in which users have a completely integrated online repository of WMU subscribed or owned Alexander Street video titles.
American History in Video
Counseling and Therapy in Video
Dance in Video
Education in Video
Ethnographic Video Online
Filmaker's Library Online
Opera in Video
Theatre in Video
VAST: Academic Video Online
World History in Video
Includes more than 20,000 streaming videos which allow searching for specific video segments, organize videos into folders, create personal playlists for your students to view, and even create customized bookmarks within any program. Includes videos from the Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics, and Health & Medicine collections.
