WMU Research Guides: Theatre: Audio, Video, & Images

Streaming Audio

Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
More than 240 dramatic works in streaming audio from the archive of the L.A. Theatre Works.

Music Online
Access the content of streaming databases American Song (including African American music), Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound.

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Access almost 700,000 tracks from over 47,000 CDs from 300 labels, including the entire Naxos catalog. Includes classical, world, folk, and new age. Features text resources such as music terms, a pronunciation guide, opera synopses and libretti, historical notes, and more.

Find audio and video in the Libraries' collections using Library Search.

Most theatre videos are in the Instructional Video Collection in Waldo Library. Most musicals are in the Music and Dance Library.

ARTstore
Contains over one million art images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences, intended for non-profit, scholarly or educational use. Institutions, organizations, and individuals from around the world have contributed collections to this searchable digital library. Tools are also provided to create presentations using ARTStor images combined with images from users personal collections.
WMU Image Catalog
Locate slide and digital art images for instructional and research purposes. Search by creator, title, keyword, date, medium, culture, stylistic period, subject, and more.
more...less...
Search results display brief descriptive text and thumbnail images. Each image links to the larger digital image or a call number so it can be located in the slide collection in Waldo Library.
Digitized Collections, WMU Libraries
This page directs you to a number of digitized image collections here at WMU, including historical photographs.

You can use Google to search for images.

Once you get search results, use the "Search Tools" button at the top to limit to images by:

Did you know:

You can even upload or drag an image onto the search box, and Google will search for the original source of the image.

American Theatre Wing
Click on "What's New" and Audio-Video links for streaming video recordings of the American Theatre Wing's panel discussion series and interviews, featuring performers, directors, playwrights, designers, choreographers and behind-the-scenes personnel from Broadway. Topics include Off-Broadway, Humor in Performance, Puppetry, Producing New Plays for Broadway, Design, and much more.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 20,000 streaming videos which allow searching for specific video segments, organize videos into folders, create personal playlists for your students to view, and even create customized bookmarks within any program. Includes videos from the Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics, and Health & Medicine collections.
Music Online: Opera in Video This link opens in a new window
One hundred fifty-plus videos of complete opera performances, interviews, and documentaries, from the Baroque to the 20th Century. Create playlists, make and save clips, etc.