This guide will walk you through the research process with recommended subject-specific resources. A list of some recommended resources included in this guide is below.
Don't forget to check out our other Research Guides for any interdisciplinary research.
Screen reader user? Follow these links to get instructions on using the Library Search interface to find books and journal articles.
Ethnologue: Languages of the World is a comprehensive reference work cataloging all known living languages. Ethnologue has been an active research project for over 70 years involving hundreds of linguists and other researchers worldwide.
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1843 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
Gale Literary Sources brings together Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism, Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, LitFinder, and Something About the Author into a single cross searchable platform.
This collection includes all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR, covering more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Also included are millions of primary sources from the 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and the Global Plants collections.
The JSTOR platform does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of a journal’s content. Current issues of journals hosted on the JSTOR platform are available through separate subscriptions on other platforms. Please check LibrarySearch for access to embargoed content.
Represents a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres including: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism and Children's Literature Review. This database can be cross searched with the database Something About the Author.
Full-text biographies, critical essays and reviews, poems, short stories and plays of more than 130,000 international authors. This database contains the full content of the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, and selections from Children's Literature Review, Drama Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism and 11 other literary criticism series.
Project MUSE (Museums Uniting with Schools in Education) offers more than 300 journal titles from several scholarly publishers in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, economics, and others.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) provides every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. The collection bears witness to The American Revolution, The French Revolution and The Industrial Revolution.
