WMU Research Guides: EDLD 6590: Higher Education Law: Home

Core Legal Databases

Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Westlaw's research service redesigned for students. Legal sources, including the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, United States Code Annotated (USCA), Federal and State court cases, American Law Reports (ALR), American Jurisprudence 2d, Black's Law Dictionary, Legal Guides, and more. Also includes more than 700 law reviews and journals.

Citations sent using Westlaw's email option do not provide a permalink that can be used to link directly to a case. Users are encouraged to log into Westlaw and then search for the citation(s) received via email, and when sending cases, to select the radio button for "documents" instead of "list of items" when using the email option.
Added January 3, 2014.

Westlaw Help Guide
instructions on using Westlaw for finding legal information and cases.

NexisUni This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources, including both deep archive and up-to-the-minute stories in regional, national, and international newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, and non-English language news services. Company Dossier can be used to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures, or to identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. Also included is Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases 1789-present.

NOTE: Users must register for a NexisUni account using their WMU email address in order to save content and searches on this platform.

ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window This is the core index in the field of Education. Includes citations with abstracts for over 2,000 journals and more than 450,000 reports in education and related fields.Covers 1966-present. This database is also available from the US government.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window Indexes popular magazines, scholarly journals, newspapers and trade publications in a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Full-text available for over 2,500 journals. Coverage from 1857.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Indexes scholarly literature in the natural and social sciences. Use this to get extensive inter-disciplinary access to journal articles and also to find out which articles are being cited by other scholars . Cited references from 1970-present, records from 1788-present. NOTE: WMU users do not have access to SciVal through Scopus

GovInfo: Discover U.S. Government Information This link opens in a new window
govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

Email me

Librarian:

Phone: 269-387-1581
Office: Waldo 1012

Subjects: Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology, Education and Human Development, Family and Consumer Sciences, Human Performance and Health Education