WMU Research Guides: EDLD 6590: Higher Education Law: Dictionaries & Reference Tools

Dictionaries and Reference Tools

Blacks Law Dictionary is available in the WestLaw Next Campus Research database. Once logged into WestLaw click "Secondary Sources" in the box in the middle of the screen. Then, in the column on the far right under "Related Content" click the link for "Blacks Law Dictionary."

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
More than 200 dictionaries, encyclopedias, language reference and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. In addition to text, some sources include maps, illustrations, and Web links. Users can search one resource, a group of selected resources, or all of them at once. Regularly updated. This subscription is limited to five simultaneous users. Please logout when finished.
Included in this database are the following titles: Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment, Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages, The Oxford Classical Dictionary, The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium, The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance, and The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation.
Credo General Reference This link opens in a new window
Full text online from over 400 encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference books. Search a topic, build a concept map or browse information sources organized by subject. Find text, images, sound files, sortable data tables and more.

Legal Research

A Dictionary of Law by Elizabeth A. Martin (Editor); Jonathan Law (Editor) The Dictionary defines all the major terms, concepts, processes, and organization of the legal system - with new coverage of important recent legislation and expanded coverage of criminology and law enforcement. International in scope, the book includes terms taken from European law, international law, human rights law, and environmental law. This edition offers highlighted feature entries that discuss key topics in detail, such as adoption law or the Terrorism Act. There is a useful Writing and Citation Guide that specifically addresses problems and established conventions for writing legal essays and reports and the book features entry-level web links which are accessed and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Law companion website. This classic dictionary is an invaluable source of legal reference for lawyers, law students, and anyone else needing succinct clarification of legal terms.
ISBN: 0199551243
Publication Date: 2009-06-22
Legal Research by Kent C. Olson; Morris Cohen
Call Number: KF240 .C54 2013 (Waldo Library Reference Collection)
ISBN: 9780314286659
Publication Date: 2013-05-23

Lady Justice

Lady Justice equipped with three symbols: a sword symbolizing the court's coercive power; a human scale weighing competing claims in each hand; and a blindfold indicating impartiality.

(Sculpture by John Massey Rhind, Shelby County Courthouse, Memphis, TN; attributed to Einar Einarsson Kvaran; Wikimedia Commons)

Research & Instruction Librarian

Brad Dennis

Email Me

Librarian:

Phone: 269-387-1581
Office: Waldo 1012

Subjects: Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology, Education and Human Development, Family and Consumer Sciences, Human Performance and Health Education