WMU Research Guides: PHIL 1100 Inquiry, Argument, and Debate: Home

About This Guide

This guide will walk you through the research process with recommended course-specific resources.

Don't forget to check out our other Research Guides for any interdisciplinary research and our Philosophy Research Guide for more subject-specific resources.

Screen reader user? Follow these links to get instructions on using the Library Search interface to find books and journal articles.

Socrative
This is how to participate in class discussions and activities. Click the link and use room code DYLAN1069

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
More than 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays, 5,000+ topic overviews, 300+ primary source documents, 300+ biographies of social activists and reformers, more than 775 court-case overviews, 5 million periodical articles, nearly 6,000 statistical tables, charts and graphs, nearly 70,000 images and a link to Google Image Search, thousands of podcasts, including weekly presidential addresses, premier NPR programs and more.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its award-winning in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Reports are published online 44 times a year by CQ Press, an imprint of Sage Publications.
Credo General Reference This link opens in a new window
Full-text online from over 400 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books. Search a topic, build a concept map, or browse information sources organized by subject. Find text, images, sound files, sortable data tables and more.

Google Scholar
This guide will show you how to link Google Scholar to your WMU account to see what you can access through the library right now! Also check out the "Searching in Google Scholar" tab for more tips on creating effective searches.

Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Provides the Access World News Research Collection with full-text articles from over 4500 U.S. and international newspapers, wire services, and broadcasts. There is access to America's Historical Newspapers, as well as Hot Topics and Special Reports on current issues in the news.
Wall Street Journal (1889-2011) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search the full-text of this newspaper by keywords or names, or limit your search to type of document such as editorials, cartoons, classifieds, birth and marriage notices, front page stories, display ads, legal notices, obituaries and the weather.
New York Times Digital edition This link opens in a new window
1851 to date. Does not include Crosswords and Times Insider.

HOW TO ACCESS:
FIRST: Register for an Academic Pass.
First time registrants MUST use their @wmich.edu email addresses to register for an Academic Pass. Your Academic Pass is good for 364 days from the date you activate it; after it expires you can re-register using the registration link above for a new pass for 364 days.
NEXT: Log in here with your WMU account.

Mobile APPS: Your Academic Pass includes access to the New York Times via the NYTimes smartphone and tablet apps.; these are included as part of the Academic Pass and are available here.