- University Libraries Databases
- WMU Research Guides
- Primary Documents in History
- Ancient & Medieval World
Primary Documents in History
Primary Documents - Ancient and Medieval History
The websites listed below link to primary documents on the Ancient World and the Medieval era.
- Internet Ancient History SourcebookThis site, hosted by Fordham University, provides researchers with links to full-text primary and secondary sources on the ancient world. Use the links on the left side of the page to help navigate through the site.
- Internet Medieval History SourcebookHosted by the Fordham University Center for Medieval Studies, this site offers researchers a selection of primary and secondary sources from the medieval period. Use the handy "Selected Sources Sections" on the left hand side of the page to help navigate.
- The Labyrinth : Resources for Medieval StudiesThis site links to databases, services, texts, and images related to medieval studies from around the world. Note: the site is no longer maintained, but does include many useful resources.
- Pegasus Digital LibraryBegun in 1985, this digital library contains a large amount of primary sources of the Greco-Roman world, including artifacts, archaeological sites, buildings, coins, sculptures, and vases.
- Theban Mapping ProjectThe Theban Mapping Project (TMP, now based at the American University in Cairo) presents a comprehensive archaeological database of Thebes. You can take a virtual tour of some of the royal tombs in the Valley of the Kings in Egypt.
WMU Medieval Document Collection
The WMU Medieval Document Collection contains primarily Cistercian items from European abbeys of the 1100s-1400s. Original materials were imaged at high resolution to facilitate research and include some detail views. Items are from several collections, including the Dom Obrecht Cistercian Studies Collection on permanent loan to the Institute of Cistercian Studies Library housed at WMU Libraries Special Collections
Detail of a Cistercian Antiphonary, c1173-1291, from the Abbazia di Morimondo, Milan, Italy.
(Courtesy of Western Michigan University Libraries, Special Collections)
Meet Your Librarian
Carrie Leatherman
She/Her
Librarian:
Office: Waldo Library Room 1048 (First Floor)
Office Phone: (269) 387-5142