Skip to Main Content

Primary Documents in History

Veterans History Project

Photograph of airplane pilot from the Wings of War collection of the Veterans History Project

The Veterans History Project of the Library of Congress preserves and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans from World War I through the present day.

Prints and Photographs Collection

Historical photograph of a Depression-era family

The Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog is a searchable collection of over one million digital images representing a cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress.

American Folklife Center

Logo of the American Folklife Center in Washington, DC

Located at the Library of Congress, the American Folklife Center contains collections of folk cultural material from all 50 states and the District of Columbia.  There are over 4,000 collections of images, sounds, written accounts, interviews, and more items of cultural documentation.  This site is rich in primary sources relating to American history.

Some of the things you will find are accounts of men and women who were enslaved; documentation about the lives of American cowboys, farmers, fishermen, coal miners, shop keepers, factory workers, quilt makers, professional and amateur musicians, and housewives; and Native American song and dance traditions.

National Archives

Seal of the National Archives and Records Administration Department

Explore the Web site of the National Archives  and Records Administration to find digitized primary documents and images from different eras in American history that are in the National Archives collections.

American Memory

Logo of the Library of Congress

The Library of Congress's American Memory site offers multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, sound recordings, motion pictures, and texts. It includes over 100 collections, including, for example, African-American pamphlets, Chautauqua flyers, Depression-era photographs, Coca-Cola advertising, and the papers of Alexander Graham Bell.

Meet Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Brad Dennis
Librarian:
Phone: 269-387-1581
Office: Waldo 1012