HIST 4245 : The Vietnam War
Best Journal Databases in History
SEARCH HINT: Most databases use a truncation symbol--sometimes called a wild card--that you can use at the end of your keywords to pick up variant endings of that word. In most databases, this truncation symbol is the asterisk *
Use this at the end of a root word to pick up all the endings of the word, e.g., slave* will pick up slave, slaves, slavery, slaveholder, slaveowner, etc.
SEARCH HINT: Put quotation marks around phrases when searching in order to get the words in that order. For example, "vietnam war"
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present with full-text coverage of hundreds of journals and books, and selective indexing for journals 1955-present.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndexes scholarly literature in the natural and social sciences. Use this to get extensive inter-disciplinary access to journal articles and also to find out which articles are being cited by other scholars . Cited references from 1970-present, records from 1788-present.
NOTE: WMU users do not have access to SciVal through Scopus - Proquest Political Science This link opens in a new windowProQuest Political Science covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics. This database includes over 150 leading political science and international relations journals, many of which are core titles included in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
- Political Science Complete
This link opens in a new windowThis full-text database covers political topics with a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse.
Other Avenues to Articles
There are several other databases that you might search. I strongly recommend you search first in America: History and Life, but the following are other choices for you to find scholarly articles.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to selected scholarly journals in a number of humanities and social sciences disciplines. Search by individual title or in the whole collection.
This database contains back issues and usually does not contain issues of the most recent 3 to 5 years. Current issues of some 200 mostly University Press titles are supported through the JSTOR Current Scholarship Program. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE offers more than 300 journal titles from several scholarly publishers in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, economics, and others.
