Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Libraries 101: Getting Started at the WMU Libraries

This guide introduces you to the buildings, services, research support available through the WMU Libraries.

The Physical Collection

Books, Books, Books, and more Books

Yes the library is more than just books but we cannot talk about the libraries without talking about the physical collection. 

How many books do you you have access to in the University Libraries?
500,000: 1 votes (50%)
1 miliion: 1 votes (50%)
4 million: 0 votes (0%)
10 million: 0 votes (0%)
None they are all ebooks: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 2

Waldo Library Overview

Waldo Library

  • Waldo Library is the central library on the main campus.
  • It houses the main collection as well as course reserves, select textbooks, and interlibrary loan items. 
  • 4 floors of collections, study spaces, tech, and people all here to help. 
  • BookMark Cafe
  • Maps of Waldo by floor

Waldo Physical Spaces

Waldo Physical Spaces

More than just books!

Study and Meeting Spaces

Individual Study Rooms

Located on the 3rd floor of Waldo, these individual study carrels can be reserved for 4 hours When you are done studying be sure to take a 10 minute break in one of the massage chairs by the back stairs. 

Group Study Rooms

Waldo has many different group study rooms on all floors and can accommodate from 2-10 people.  They can be  reserved for 4 hours.  All group study rooms feature tables, chairs and whiteboards. Ask for markers for the whiteboards at the Service Desk. Some of the rooms have large monitors or projectors that you can use with your laptop. Cables and adapters are available in the rooms or for check out.

Graduate Student Commons

Located on the third floor, his is a swipe access room for graduate students with computers, printers, quite pods, and group rooms. 

Tech Spaces

Computers and Printers

Waldo Library has an 200+ computers for you to use to do your classwork. First come first serve, you can log in with your BNID.You will need your Bronco Card to swipe print jobs. How to print: 

Multimedia Studio and Respondus Testing Room 

A video and audio editing software studio that can be reserved by emailing Alex Teal. Respondus is testing software located in the same studio. 

VR Lab 

On the lower level of Waldo. No reservation needed. 

3d Printers 

You can use the 3d printers for free and request/reserve through a service hub form. Here is a sample order: 

Zhang Legacy Collection

Zhang Legacy Collections Center

Photo of Zhang legacy shelving

Located at 1650 Oakland Drive, The Zhang Legacy Collections Center is home to our archives, regional history collection and special collections.

WMU Archives 

Yearbooks, catalogs, photographs, publications, scrapbooks and issues of the Western Herald, all documenting the history of Western Michigan University.

 

black and white photo of east hall

Regional History Collection 

Letters, diaries, oral histories, photographs, public records, publications and much more about the history of southwest Michigan.

Black and white photo of a buildin

 

Special Collections 

More than 41,000 books and other unique items from pop-up children's books to centuries-old medieval manuscripts available for your research, creative and academic projects.

Adoration of the Magi from the Hours of Charles of Angoulême.

Swain Education Library

Swain Library

Located on the second floor of Sangren, Swain Library is a space for fostering student collaboration, engagement and academic success. The Western Michigan University campus partners that share this space focus on peer tutoring, global and community engagement, and student entrepreneurship and support. Swain Library is part of University Libraries and helps to move forward our mission to fuel discovery and exploration in new ways. 

Campus Partners

  • Center for Community Engagement 
  • Global Learning Academy
  • Peer Academic Success Coaching
  • Starting Gate

Poll

Regarding physical spaces in the libraries, what are you excited to use?
Individual study rooms: 0 votes (0%)
Group study rooms: 0 votes (0%)
VR Lab and other tech spaces: 3 votes (100%)
Comfy chairs: 0 votes (0%)
BookMark Cafe: 0 votes (0%)
Massage Chairs: 0 votes (0%)
Computers and Printers: 0 votes (0%)
Zhang Legacy Collection: 0 votes (0%)
Going to meet my friends: 0 votes (0%)
Grad Lounge: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 3