IADN 1560 - Psychology and Philosophy of the Built Environment
Core databases
- CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals in nursing and related fields with full-text for 1,300 of them. From 1954 to the present. Updated weekly.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Covers world-wide literature in psychology and related disciplines. Journal articles, technical reports, books, book chapters, and dissertations are included. Coverage from 1806 to Current. Updated weekly.
- Art & Architecture Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles in of subjects of fine art, decorative art. commercial art, architecture, and architectural design. Database includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch.
Google Scholar
Syncing Google Scholar to WMU Collections
Why Use Google Scholar?
- Broaden search to what is not indexed in databases owned by WMU libraries
- Easy natural language search
- Quick citation count to weigh the impact factor of an article
- Quick links to citing literature
- Easy to do a thorough/extensive review of the literature
- Quick proxy links to full text articles via WMU databases
- Create an account to set up alerts for different searches
Caveat: There is an increasing number of grey literature showing up in Google Scholar. Be sure to assess the source of the material.
How to set up Google Scholar to Search Databases
- Click Settings gear in the upper right hand part of the screen
- Choose Library Links (on left).
- Search "Western Michigan University".
- Check "Western Michigan University
(Find it@WMU)”
- Check Open WorldCat
- Save Settings
- A link to "Find it@WMU" should now appear on the right hand side of the results list for those citations that are available from the Libraries.
- extensive review of the literature
- Quick proxy links to full text articles via WMU databases
- Create an account to set up alerts for different searches
Caveat: There is an increasing number of grey literature showing up in Google Scholar. Be sure to assess the source of the material.
How to set up Google Scholar to Search Databases
- Click Settings gear in the upper right hand part of the screen
- Choose Library Links (on left).
- Search "Western Michigan University".
- Check "Western Michigan University
(Find it@WMU)”
- Check Open WorldCat
- Save Settings
- A link to "Find it@WMU" should now appear on the right hand side of the results list for those citations that are available from the Libraries.
Additional databases
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly literature in the natural and social sciences. Use this to get extensive inter-disciplinary access to journal articles and also to find out which articles are being cited by other scholars . Cited references from 1970-present, records from 1788-present.
NOTE: WMU users do not have access to SciVal through Scopus - ABI/INFORM Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database is one of the most comprehensive business databases on the market. It includes in-depth coverage for thousands of publications, most of which are available in full text and the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This is the core index in the field of Education. Includes citations with abstracts for over 2,000 journals and more than 450,000 reports in education and related fields.Covers 1966-present. This database is also available from the US government.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Is the National Library of Medicine's interface for searching MEDLINE, the major index to medical research, from clinical medicine to cellular and biomolecular biology. Free citations and abstracts, limited full-text. Coverage from 1893 to Current. Updated weekly.
If you get an error message when logging into your personal account through WMU, please clear your browser history or use an incognito window.
