IADN 1560 - Psychology and Philosophy of the Built Environment
Background Reference Resources
- DSM Library (Including the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition (DSM-V)) This link opens in a new window
Includes DSM-V (the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition), the standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals, clinicians and researchers in the United States. Part of Psychiatry Online which also provides Journals, Textbooks, Self Assessments, Diagnosis, Treatments, casebooks and complete access to the DSM, 4th edition, including revisions.
- Credo General Reference This link opens in a new window
Full-text online from over 400 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books. Search a topic, build a concept map, or browse information sources organized by subject. Find text, images, sound files, sortable data tables and more.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
More than 200 dictionaries, encyclopedias, language reference and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. In addition to text, some sources include maps, illustrations, and Web links. Users can search one resource, a group of selected resources, or all of them at once. Regularly updated.
This subscription is limited to five simultaneous users. Please log out when finished.
Included in this database are the following titles:
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
The Oxford Classical Dictionary
The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium
The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
Core databases
- CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals in nursing and related fields with full-text for 1,300 of them. From 1954 to the present. Updated weekly.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Covers world-wide literature in psychology and related disciplines. Journal articles, technical reports, books, book chapters, and dissertations are included. Coverage from 1806 to Current. Updated weekly.
- Art & Architecture Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles in of subjects of fine art, decorative art. commercial art, architecture, and architectural design. Database includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
If you get an error message when logging into your personal account through WMU, please clear your browser history or use an incognito window. - ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This is the core index in the field of Education. Includes citations with abstracts for over 2,000 journals and more than 450,000 reports in education and related fields.Covers 1966-present. This database is also available from the US government.
Image Sources
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Contains over one million art images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences, intended for non-profit, scholarly or educational use. Institutions, organizations, and individuals from around the world have contributed collections to this searchable digital library. Tools are also provided to create presentations using ARTStor images combined with images from users personal collections.
Google Image Search is also a valuable tool for images. Also use the "Tools" menu to restrict your search to images without copyright restrictions.
Terms and Keywords
Suggestions for finding good keywords to refine your searching:
- Pay attention to words and phrases in articles and resources you find on your topic, particularly those that are very relevant for you.
- Think about the kinds of people your housing is designed for: elderly people, young people, homeless people, etc. Try searching for those terms together with a term like housing or dwelling or residence, etc. So if your topic is dormitories, you might try searching "college students" together with housing or residence.
- Try using synonyms to expand your searching. For example if your topic has to do with a housing type for older people you could try additional terms such as elderly, senior citizens, etc.
- Use truncation symbols to find variations of a word. For example residen* will find residence, residential, residences, etc.
