WMU Research Guides: Chemistry: Finding data

Chemical Property Databases

Chemical properties

SciFinder-n

This extensive chemistry index supplies abstracts of journal articles, conferences, dissertations, technical reports, patents, substance records, formula, structure and reaction searching. New features available on this new platform include a new computer-aided synthetic design module, MethodsNow, PatentPak, NMR spectral data from BIORAD, and more.
For best results please use Chrome or Firefox.

Click here for one-time registration.
SciFinder-n adoption tips for new users:
• See how to Migrate your current saved answers and alerts from SciFinder®
• Access the SciFinder-n quick start guide for a step-by-step product demo
• Watch SciFindern How-To videos

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Important! To access all of the Handbook contents, you need to create a "personal workspace" within the online platform. To do this, click the "Create a personal workspace" link below for directions.

Create a Personal Workspace for the Handbook
These are the instructions for creating a "personal workspace" within the Handbook's online platform.

Knovel Engineering eReference Books
Select Property Search to explore this area of Knovel. You can search by substance name or by properties.
ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing text and structure searching of over 28 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

Crystal structures

Cambridge Structural Database
Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) is the principal repository for 3D crystal structures of organic and metal-organic compounds determined by X-ray and neutron diffraction. Structure data is drawn from the chemical literature and direct deposit. The web version, called WebCSD, is a user-friendly search and display tool that is ideal for quick lookups, teaching, and occasional users. See this how-to video for help using the database.

Chemical Property Handbooks

Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (Kirk-Othmer)
Covers "chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field."
Gmelins Handbuch der Anorganischen Chemie.
The Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry (Handbuch der Anorganischen Chemie) or simply Gmelin is a multi-volume collection of data and information on inorganic and organometallic compounds. The print volumes are available in the Zhang Legacy Archives Collection (call number QD151 .G52).
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology (2003)
This reference contains an enormous amount of critical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. Featuring physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties.
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry (16th Edition) - 2005
Another great reference source for critical property data.
Yaws' Critical Property Data for Chemical Engineers and Chemists (2013)
This database contains almost 450,000 data records covering physical, thermophysical, thermodynamic, transport, safety, and environmental properties for over 5000 inorganic substances and over 35,000 organic substances.
Yaws' Handbook of Thermodynamic and Physical Properties of Chemical Compounds (2003)
This is a collection of physical, thermodynamic, and transport property correlations for 5000 organic chemical compounds covering C1 to C70 organics. The data is provided in a tabular format with links to an interactive Equation Plotter Applet that graphically represents the temperature correlation relationships for 15 key properties.

Librarian

Micky Carignano

she/her/hers

Email me

Librarian:

In-person office hours: Tuesdays 2-4 in the Graduate Student Commons (3028 Waldo Library) or by appointment

My office: 1050 Waldo Library

(269)387-5971

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Environmental and Sustainability Studies, Geography and Maps, Geosciences, Graduate College, Mathematics, Physics, Science Education, Statistics

Subject and Course Guides

Chemistry

Chemical Property Databases

Chemical properties

Crystal structures

Chemical Property Handbooks

Librarian