WMU Research Guides: Chemistry: Finding sources

Find sources

Find good keywords

Keyword tool: This tool from the University of Texas at Austin guides you through the process of creating a keyword search.
Using Boolean logic: This pdf from the University of Toronto explains how to use AND, OR, NOT, " ", * , and other modifiers in your search.

Choose a database (or use Library Search)

Databases: specialized resources to find scholarly sources about a specific area, such as sciences, agriculture, medicine, etc.
Library Search: search the entire library's holdings, including books and articles. Library Search will not return results that we do not own or subscribe to, so it is not an exhaustive search.

Follow citations

The references in the sources you find can lead you to other important sources. However, chemistry citations can be difficult to read. See the citation section of this guide for help.

Evaluate your sources

How do you know if your sources are credible?

Watch this video from North Carolina State University Library about evaluating sources.
Consult this guide from the University of Texas Libraries.

Get sources from outside WMU

If a source you need is not available in our library, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Get help

If you aren't finding the articles you need, or are unable to access the articles you find, contact a librarian.

email me
make an appointment to meet virtually or in-person
contact the library with email or live chat

Chemistry databases

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
This extensive chemistry index supplies abstracts of journal articles, conferences, dissertations, technical reports, patents, substance records, formula, structure and reaction searching. New features available on this new platform include a new computer-aided synthetic design module, MethodsNow, PatentPak, NMR spectral data from BIORAD, and more. Click here for one-time registration.
Watch SciFinder-n How-To videos
American Chemical Society Publications This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of more than 30 peer-reviewed journals and magazines published by the American Chemical Society.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly literature in the natural and social sciences. Use this to get extensive inter-disciplinary access to journal articles and also to find out which articles are being cited by other scholars . Cited references from 1970-present, records from 1788-present. NOTE: WMU users do not have access to SciVal through Scopus

Organic Syntheses
This site provides detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds. Each reaction with its characterization data has been repeated several times and carefully "checked" for reproducibility in the laboratory of a member of the Board of Editors. We have 87 physical volumes of these in the Waldo Library Stacks at call number QD262 .O7.
Cambridge Structural Database
Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) is the principal repository for 3D crystal structures of organic and metal-organic compounds determined by X-ray and neutron diffraction. Structure data is drawn from the chemical literature and direct deposit. The web version, called WebCSD, is a user-friendly search and display tool that is ideal for quick lookups, teaching, and occasional users. See this how-to video for help using the database.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Database for scientific research that contains the citations and abstracts of more than 1,800 Elsevier journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences as well as selected full-text articles. ScienceDirect can be searched as a database or browsed by individual title. Coverage varies.
PaperChem This link opens in a new window
Part of Engineering Village, Paperchem covers the literature of the pulp, paper and paperboard industries, as well as such allied industries as packaging, chemicals, and equipment. Coverage from 1967 to Current, with over 12,000 records added annually.
Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Indexes virtually all doctoral dissertations and many masters theses produced in the U.S. since 1861. Dissertations from other countries date back to 1637. Abstracts available from 1980. Full-text for dissertations are being added continually. Most since 1997 are full-text, though some authors choose not to make their work available. Print and microfilm copies are offered for a fee, but request the item via Interlibrary Loan before paying for a copy.

New search functionality includes metadata from Clarivate's Citation Connection. To ensure your search results take advantage of this new functionality, please add “AND ref(1)“ to your search terms.
To search only dissertations and theses completed at Western Michigan University, please use the Dissertations & Theses @ Western Michigan University database. To view digital theses and dissertations hosted in the WMU Libraries repository, please visit ScholarWorks@WMU.

Librarian

Micaela Carignano

she/her/hers

Email me

Librarian:

1050 Waldo Library

(269)387-5971

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Environmental and Sustainability Studies, Geography and Maps, Geosciences, Graduate College, Mathematics, Physics, Science Education, Statistics

Subject and Course Guides

Chemistry