Skip to main content

Faculty Development: Teaching and Learning Resources

eBook & eBook Collections

The University Libraries is acquiring more and more online books which are extemely convenient for students and faclulty. Our collections include  a number of sizable collections, including Springer e-books, Ebrary and Books24x7.  We also subscribe to a number of online reference sources.  Click on the eBook graphic above to see the guide for eBooks.

Citation Management

Customized Subject and Class Guides

Ask your subject librarian to create a customized research guide for your students. These may include instruction on research concepts and links to e-books, digitized collections, full text databases, or any other type of resources your students need to complete research assignments. To see some samples of guides that have already been created see the list of course guides. 

Tutorials

Use WMU Libraries' tutorials to introduce your students to research concepts. Tutorials can be embedded in e-learning or linked to from a website. Learn more about library tutorials and other instructional services on the Information Literacy Instruction web page.

Plagiarism Tutorial

Comprehensive tutorial on plagiarism and academic writing. Primarily intended for graduate students, but worthwhile for undergraduates as well as faculty.

Citing Sources / Style Guides Resources

Extensive help and resource materials are available on using standard style guides, such as APA, MLA, etc. You can link to any of these help pages, PDF guides, or tutorials on the Citing Sources help pages.

Textbook Alternatives

This guide provides information about options offered through open educational resources projects, as well as resources and services offered through the WMU Libraries.

Electronic Reserves

Instructors may place books, articles, videos, recordings, and other materials on reserve for a course. To use course reserves, just set up a course and add materials.

Digitization Services

The Libraries' Digitization Center provides quality digitization and planning for access, research and preservation.  For information about the digitization services available at WMU, visit the digitization services page.

Explore some of the WMU digitized collections available on our web site.  

Streaming Video

Browse or search collections of streaming videos. Streaming videos may be linked to in e-learning or from a course reserves site or shown in a face to face class.