The following are recommended business journals and databases which are useful for topics in merchandising and information on companies involved in fashion and textiles.
A Cultural History of Fashion in the 20th and 21st Centuries by
This new edition of a bestselling textbook is designed for students, scholars, and anyone interested in 20th century fashion history. Accessibly written and well illustrated, the book outlines the social and cultural history of fashion thematically, and contains a wide range of global case studies on key designers, styles, movements and events.
The Fashion Design Reference and Specification Book by
An essential primer for students and first-stop reference for professionals, The Fashion Design Reference & Specification Book takes the fashion designer through the entire design process, from conceiving a garment to marketing it. This valuable handbook contains the information and ideas essential to planning and executing fashion projects of every scale.
The Language of Fashion Design by
Learning a new discipline is similar to learning a new langua≥ in order to master the foundation of fashion design, you must first master the basic building blocks of its language - the definitions, function, and usage. The Language of Fashion Design provides students and fashion designers with the basic elements of fashion design, divided into twenty-six easy-to-comprehend chapters. This visual reference includes an introductory, historical view of the elements, as well as an overview of how these elements can and have been used across multiple design disciplines.
WMU's Costume History Collection is comprised of four books housed in the Special Collections and Rare Books Room of Waldo Library. Each of these books illustrates aspects of dress from the mid-18th century to the mid-19th century.
