SOC 4540: Juvenile Delinquency
CQ Researcher
Explores a current news issue in-depth each week. Articles contain an overview and background of the issue, pro-con essays on a question related to the issue, a chronology, and a lengthy bibliography.
This search box works only from the main WMU campus IP range. Off-campus users should access the CQ Research website via this link.
Searching tips:
if there is no full text link for an article, look for the VIEW ONLINE tab or the 
button. It tells you tells you if we have the article online, or in print, or if you will have to request it through interlibrary loan.
Use the "Advanced Search" mode when available to conduct a search for a topic. This search mode can help you better organize your search terms.
Use the asterisk (*) in most databases as a wildcard or truncation symbol. For example: delinquen* will retriece delinquent, delinquents, or delinquency.
Journal Article and Newspaper Databases
Try the following databases for articles in sociology and related areas:
- ProQuest Criminal Justice This link opens in a new windowA database of U.S. and international criminal justice journals, includes abstract and indexing for 250 titles, with more than 100 available in full-text.
- Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browsable database of U.S.and international criminal justice journals. The database includes abstract and indexing for over 400 titles, with more than 170 available in full-text from 1981-present.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This federally funded powerhouse of CJ services and reference information summarizes over 160,000 publications in its abstracts database, including government reports, books, articles, and published and unpublished research reports. An exclusively full-text NCJRS Virtual Library is also available. Most items not available full-text online can be purchased from NCJRS. A full array of services can be had at no cost by registering online.
- Access World News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
This is a comprehensive resource that includes more than 8,000 news publications from nearly 200 countries worldwide, including major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles.
- CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
Created and hosted by CQ Press, the CQ Press Library is the definitive reference resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. A wealth of CQ Press resources and years of journalistic and editorial expertise are combined in this indispensable reference collection. These reference products offer researchers—whether students, scholars, professionals, or interested citizens—a range of tools for discovering and understanding CQ Press's authoritative content. The suite includes CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, Supreme Court Yearbook, and Politics in America.
- Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Provides the Access World News Research Collection with full-text articles from over 4500 U.S. and international newspapers, wire services, and broadcasts. There is access to America's Historical Newspapers, as well as Hot Topics and Special Reports on current issues in the news.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Covers world-wide literature in psychology and related disciplines. Journal articles, technical reports, books, book chapters, and dissertations are included. Coverage from 1806 to Current. Updated weekly.
Meet Your Librarian
