Call for chapter proposals for the forthcoming ACRL publication Flourishing in the Academic Library: A Framework for Fostering Student Belonging, Confidence, and Connection

I invite chapter proposals for the forthcoming ACRL publication Flourishing in the Academic Library: A Framework for Fostering Student Belonging, Confidence, and Connection which address student flourishing, specifically the concepts of belonging, confidence and connectedness. Please submit your proposal using this google form. 

What is the purpose of this volume?
This volume aims to bridge the gap between information literacy and social-emotional learning, by introducing a collection of chapters on the holistic impact of academic libraries on student social and emotional growth and development in their ability to navigate an increasingly complex digital landscape. The purpose of this volume is to bring together a variety chapters such as case studies, best practices, exploratory research, pedagogical theory, or novel and unique program models that show how academic libraries contribute to student flourishing. Case studies and exploratory research are invited and welcome. The chapters will represent a range of library services, institutions, and student populations and discuss library programs, services, assessments, or initiatives that align with student flourishing. Proposals are welcome from any area of academic librarianship.

Who is the audience for this volume?
The core audience for this volume is academic librarians who are involved in any aspect of academic library services. The blend of theoretical and practical chapters will make this collection accessible to all levels of librarians, from beginner to expert. Librarians who are interested in well-being, critical librarianship, whole student pedagogies, social emotional learning, and assessment practices will be interested in this volume.

How will the volume be organized?
The volume will have three main sections: 1. Belonging Develops Purpose, 2. Confidence Develops Resilience, and 3. Connectedness Develops Potential. These are the threshold concepts for the Framework for Flourishing with Information and explained in the next section.

Section 1. Belonging Develops Purpose Chapters in this section should address how sense of belonging leads to sense of purpose through library initiatives. Belonging comes from a validated sense of self-agency and authenticity. A sound sense of belonging allows students to fully embrace their authentic selves and bring their voices to the infosphere knowing that they matter and are valued by the campus community. Belonging in the libraries builds a sense of self that helps students transition to college, grow in their role as students, and extend their learned experiences and purpose beyond the classroom into the broader community.

Section 2. Confidence Develops Resilience Chapters in this section should demonstrate how confidence develops resilience through library initiatives. Confident students show adaptability, resilience, and perseverance while navigating the infosphere and facing the multitude of choices and challenges.

Section 3. Connectedness Develops Potential Chapter proposals in this section should demonstrate how connectedness develops potential through library initiatives. Sense of connectedness is an essential component to a student’s experience on campus and actualizing potential. Students need to be connected to campus resources, opportunities, and people to build their networks, whether academic, social, or civic. These network opportunities help students develop their sense of purpose and potential in academics, with their peers, or in the place in the community. A strong sense of connectedness encourages students to flourish in a life grounded in ethics and virtues.

What is the Framework for Flourishing with Information?
The Framework for Flourishing with Information was created by Kate Langan to articulate the social and emotion work done to foster student flourishing in academic libraries. She defines the threshold concepts for flourishing as belonging, confidence, and connectedness and provides dispositions and knowledge practices as observable measures to show actual and aspirational growth for students' social and emotional relationship to information. Human flourishing can happen in academic libraries when students’ potential is nurtured. Helping students identify their purpose, their virtues and values when engaging with information extend to their social and civic lives beyond campus. Nurturing human purpose and potential is fundamental to academic librarianship. Students engage with information for academic success and classroom learning, but it can lead to more. Engaging with information can lead to happiness and thriving because they bring their authentic selves to the information ecosystem and open themselves up to the potential found in acquiring new knowledge and their purpose through learning. It can ultimately lead to flourishing. Characteristics of flourishing include the ability to distinguish between personal wants and needs, individual and social values, and maintaining a civically-minded outlook. Flourishing with information includes the choices we make, the information we choose, and how we interact with information and information systems to reach our highest potential.

What are some potential topics for this volume?

• Assessment Practices Are you already measuring flourishing and/or belonging, confidence, and connectedness in some way? Potential chapters could share how your measure, the assessment tools you use, and how findings informed future initiatives.
• Collaboration Are you collaborating with campus or community partners to increase student belonging, confidence, and connectedness? Chapters could share who you collaborated with, how you identified partners, the program and the outcomes of the collaboration.
• Collections/Collection Development Do you have physical or electronic collections or displays that promote belonging, confidence, and connectedness? Chapters could include library initiatives that highlight unique collections that foster belonging, confidence and connectedness.
• DEI Initiatives Do you have programming targeting underrepresented populations or academically at-risk populations? Chapters could include library services for neurodivergent students and first-generation students.
• Digital Projects Are you involved in any digital projects that enhance research, learning, and scholarly communication, including digitization of materials, creation of digital collections, and development of digital resources?
• Instruction Are you intentionally implementing instructional design or learning outcomes as they relate to belonging, confidence, and connectedness in your information literacy practices? Chapters could include teaching strategies or pedagogical frameworks that you implement in the classroom.
• Programming Do you develop large-scale programs beyond information literacy that focus on belonging, confidence, or connectedness? Chapters could include the description, development, and assessment of events like student orientation such as First Year Experience and mental health programming.
• Spaces Do you intentionally include student belonging, confidence or connectedness in purpose and planning for library spaces and uses? Chapters could include the process of identifying student needs and outcomes.
• Strategic Mission and Vision Does your institution or library include belonging, confidence, or connectedness, well-being, or flourishing in their mission or vision statement? How does it inform your area of specialty in the library?
• Technology Do you have a library initiative relating to library technology? Chapters could include the description of identifying technologies in the academic library, such as makerspaces, flight simulators, etc.
• Other Do you have a great case study outside these recommendations?

What does the proposal consist of?

1. Please submit your proposal using this google form.
2. A concise paragraph describing the aspect of academic librarianship presented in the chapter. For example, this can include the area of academic librarianship, programming, services, spaces, collections, etc.. (5-10 sentences).
3.  A concise paragraph of how your academic library’s commitment to student flourishing, through belonging, confidence, on connectedness. Your chapter contribute to our understanding of flourishing through student successes, identifying best practices, creation of new programming and assessment practices, etc. (5-10 sentences).
4. Identify which section -- Belonging, Confidence, or Connectedness -- your chapter is best suited followed by 3-5 sentences explaining why.
5. Identify specific Dispositions and Knowledge Practices from the Framework for Flourishing with Information.

How will proposals be evaluated and what is the timeline?

1. All proposals will be evaluated using this rubric.
2. Timeline

• June 1, 2025 Proposals Due
• July 15, 2025 Authors Notified of Acceptance
• August 1, 2025 Authors to Accept or Decline
• October 1, 2025 First Drafts due
• February 1, 2026 Editor Return Edits
• April 1, 2026 Authors to Submit Final Drafts
• June 15, 2026 Final publication submitted to ACRL

What are the final chapter guidelines and style guide?
The final chapter will be between 4,000-5,000 words, include a150 word author bio, and follow the headings:

• Introduction to the chapter, including institutional context, and learning outcomes
• Contextualization of belonging, confidence, or connectedness
• Overview of library program, service, collection, assessment etc.
• Discussion/Findings
• Next steps
• Citations should be formatted in the Chicago Manual of Style endnotes and bibliography format. Footnotes can be used sparingly and only for explanatory text. Here’s a good quick guide for reference.
• Charts, graphs, bulleted lists, photos, and other illustrations or enhancements of your content are welcomed and encouraged! Charts and graphs can be created directly in the Word document, or as separate Excel or other files such as Adobe Illustrator, as long as their placement is labelled within the manuscript, and the separate file is named accordingly. For instance, if it’s the third figure, place [ FIGURE 3 HERE] where you’d like it to appear in the manuscript, and name the separate file LAST NAME FIGURE 3. For photos, please keep them separate from the manuscript, label their placement in the manuscript, and name the file according to the system above. Be sure to include a caption for each figure.
• Authors are responsible for securing permissions for any figure or image they would like to reuse that was not created by them nor in the public domain. Please contact ACRL’s Content Strategist for permission forms if needed.
• Final chapter submissions will be copyedited for grammar, style, etc.

Will there be writing support?
I welcome proposals from authors with all levels of writing experience. I will be available to authors on individual basis by request if help is needed with the writing and editorial process. I also anticipate hosting weekly drop-in writing cafes from September to February to build community among the chapter authors. These support measures are voluntary. Please email Kate at flourishingwithinformation@gmail.com with any questions.
What about AI?
The editor will not use AI to evaluate proposals or edit the chapters. If authors chose to use AI, please refer to the Chicago Manual of Style for appropriate attribution.

Who is the editor?
Dr. Kate Langan, professor and Engagement Librarian at Western Michigan University has developed and implemented innovative programming aimed at advancing student scholarship while promoting equity, inclusiveness, and awareness of library resources. With over 15 years of experience in academic librarianship, Dr. Langan has published extensively on topics related to student engagement, information literacy, and innovative teaching practices. Her work frequently explores how to create supportive learning environments that allow students to thrive intellectually and emotionally. She has served as president of the Michigan Academic Library Association and is finishing her term as chair of the ACRL Project Outcome Editorial Board. She has demonstrated leadership in advancing assessment practices that capture the holistic impact of academic libraries on student flourishing. Dr. Langan's interdisciplinary background, combining expertise in library science, French literature, and educational theory, provides her with a multifaceted perspective on student development and success. This edited volume is based on her doctoral dissertation, "A Framework for Flourishing: Belonging, Confidence, and Connectedness in Academic Libraries," and directly addresses the concept of flourishing in higher education settings. This research forms the foundation for her expertise in how academic libraries can foster student well-being and success.

Email Kate at flourishingwithinformation@gmail.com with any questions.

A Framework for Fostering Student Belonging, Confidence, and Connection

Call for Proposals opening May 1, 2025. Sign up here to be notified when CFP opens.