MUS 3300: Choral Conducting and Literature
From the WMU Undergraduate Catalog: "The fundamentals of choral conducting are presented, including patterns and rehearsal techniques. The study and selection of literature appropriate to various levels of junior and senior high school choirs is included.
Subject Guide
Michael Duffy
Librarian:
Michael Duffy
Professor
Fine Arts Librarian
1051 Waldo Library
Pronouns: he/him/his
During the Fall and Spring semesters, I am generally available
most Mondays and Wednesdays from 12:30 p.m. to 2:30 p.m. in the Recital Hall Lobby or Ticket Office in Dalton Center and
most Thursdays from 9:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. in the Student Lounge in Richmond Center.
I may be available at other times by appointment.
Professor
Fine Arts Librarian
1051 Waldo Library
Pronouns: he/him/his
During the Fall and Spring semesters, I am generally available
most Mondays and Wednesdays from 12:30 p.m. to 2:30 p.m. in the Recital Hall Lobby or Ticket Office in Dalton Center and
most Thursdays from 9:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. in the Student Lounge in Richmond Center.
I may be available at other times by appointment.
(269) 387-5236
Website
Citation Management Tools
Quick Citation Formatting in Databases.
Many databases allow you to format citations into various writing styles. When available, look for the wording “cite” or “cite now,” or see if it is an option after clicking on “save, print, email.”
- ZoteroThis citation management tool works with the Firefox Web browser, or it can be installed as a stand-alone program on your computer with plugins for other Chrome, Safari, or Firefox.
Web Resources
- Digital Resources for MusicologyCurated, classified list of open-access digital scholarship projects in music.
- MusipediaOpenly edited database of tunes, searchable by melodic characteristics.
- MusRef (Brigham Young University)Searchable, annotated list of music research resources.
- Online Resources for Music Scholars (Harvard University)Curated, cataloged, and searchable list of online resources for music scholars.
- ChoralWikiA source for choral music in the public domain. Quality may vary.
- IMSLP/Petrucci Music LibraryMore than 250,000 public-domain (out of copyright) scores, plus music from composers who are willing to share it without charge.
- International Federation for Choral MusicOrganization promoting choral music and singing throughout the world.
- Sheet Music Consortium (UCLA)A searchable database of catalog records for sheet music from many institutions. Some of the catalog records link to digital images of the sheet music items.