MUS 3300: Choral Conducting and Literature
From the WMU Undergraduate Catalog: "The fundamentals of choral conducting are presented, including patterns and rehearsal techniques. The study and selection of literature appropriate to various levels of junior and senior high school choirs is included.
Translations of Choral Texts
Translations and Annotations of Choral Repertoire by Call Number: MT883 .J34x 1988 (Music and Dance Reference)ISBN: 0962153206Publication Date: 1988-11-014 volumes: v. 1. Sacred Latin texts -- v. 2. German texts -- v. 3. French and Italian texts -- v. 4. Hebrew texts.
Bibliographies and Research Guides
Bibliographies of Choral Music topics can be found in Reference and the General Stacks under ML128.C48. Here are some recent choral music bibliographies:
Choral Music by Call Number: ML128.C48 S53 2011 (Music and Dance Reference)ISBN: 9780415994194Publication Date: 2011-03-23
Choral Repertoire by
Choral Repertoire is the definitive and comprehensive one-volume presentation of the canon of the Western choral tradition. Designed for practicing conductors and directors, students and teachers of choral music, amateur and professional singers, scholars, and interested vocal enthusiasts, it is an account of the complete choral output of the most significant composers of this genre throughout history. Organized by era (Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, Romantic, and Modern), Choral Repertoire covers general characteristics of each historical era; trends and styles unique to various countries; biographical sketches of over 500 composers; and performance annotations of more than 5,000 individual works. This book will be an essential guide to programming, a reference tool for program notes and other research, and, most importantly, a key resource for conductors, instructors, scholars, and students of choral music.
Call Number: ML128.C48 S57 2009 (Music and Dance Reference and Online)ISBN: 9780195327786Publication Date: 2009-04-07
A Conductor's Guide to Nineteenth-Century Choral-Orchestral Works by Call Number: ML128.C48 G73 2008 (Music and Dance Reference)ISBN: 9780810860469Publication Date: 2007-12-13
Directory of Choral-Orchestral Music by Call Number: ML128.C48 R67 2007 (Music and Dance Reference)ISBN: 0415980046Publication Date: 2006-09-12
Collected Editions, Historical Series and Sets, and Monuments of Music by
A bibliography of collected editions, monuments, and sets of music. These sets are commonly shelved under M1-M3.
Call Number: ML113 .H55 1997 (Music and Dance Reference)ISBN: 0914913220Publication Date: 1997-01-01- Historical Sets, Collected Editions, and Monuments of Music by
A bibliography of collected editions, monuments, and sets of music. These sets are commonly shelved under M1-M3.
Call Number: ML 113 .H52 1980 (Music and Dance Reference)ISBN: 083890288XPublication Date: 1980-01-01
How to Use Oxford Music Online
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Oxford Music OnlineCovers music and musicians of all types and time periods; includes bibliographies, composers' worklists, links to related sites, audio and music examples. Provides access to Grove Music Online (incorporating the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz), as well as The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. This subscription is limited to eight simultaneous users. Please logout when finished.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music OnlineThe entire set of 10 print volumes is available here as a single, integrated online database. More than 9,000 pages of material and entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world. Each volume contains an overview of the region, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes, a description and images of specific musical genres, practices, performances, musicians, musical instruments, rituals, ceremonies, maps, and musical examples for further study.
- Credo General ReferenceFull text online from over 400 encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference books. Search a topic, build a concept map or browse information sources organized by subject. Find text, images, sound files, sortable data tables and more.
Historical Dictionary of Choral Music by Call Number: ML102.V6 U54 2010 (Music and Dance Reference)ISBN: 9780810857513Publication Date: 2010-06-17
The Harvard Dictionary of Music by Call Number: ML100 .A64 2003 (Music and Dance Reference and Online)ISBN: 0674011635Publication Date: 2003-11-28Terminological dictionary of music. Available online and in print.- Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart : allgemeine Enzyklopädie der Musik by
Comprehensive scholarly encyclopedia of musical topics in German. Comprises two sets, Sachteil (topical encyclopedia) and Personenteil (biographical encyclopedia).
Call Number: ML100 .M987 1994 (Music and Dance Reference)ISBN: 9783761811009Publication Date: 1994-2007
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by
Comprehensive scholarly encyclopedia of musical topics in English. Most current edition is available in Grove Music Online (via Oxford Music Online).
Call Number: ML100 .N48 2001 (Music and Dance Reference)ISBN: 1561592390Publication Date: 2003-02-11
Writing and Citing in Music
Books on writing about music are at ML 3797.
- Citing Music SourcesHow to cite music sources (scores, recordings, videos and more) using Turabian style (based upon Chicago Manual of Style).
A Style and Usage Guide to Writing about Music by
In A Style and Usage Guide to Writing About Music, Thomas Donahue presents a collection of guidelines to help express through the written word the special notations, terms, and concepts found in the discipline of music. It concentrates on questions of style and format in the interest of good formal writing within the context of United-States English, so that writers may communicate their ideas clearly and effectively.While compiling the guidelines, Donahue reviewed content from many other music and general guides. He documented the most common formats in order to assist the writer in selecting an appropriate format for the given circumstance when more than one may apply. The book draws on profuse musically-oriented examples and is arranged by topics both musical and typographic, such as the proper use and spelling of composer names and musical concepts; the use of notes, pitches, and octave delineations; letters and numbers employed to describe form and harmony; when, where, and how to apply compound words and hyphenation of terms and names; and the proper citation of musical and audiovisual sources. The book concludes with a glossary of typographic terms, a bibliography, and a comprehensive index, making this a valuable resource for students, scholars, teachers, and writers.
Call Number: Electronic BookISBN: 9780810874312Publication Date: 2010-04-01
Music in Words by
A textbook and reference book "about the way we research music and write about it." Graduate student level.
Call Number: Electronic BookISBN: 9780195373721Publication Date: 2009-02-12
A Handbook for Preparing Graduate Papers in Music by Call Number: ML3797 .B68 2001 (Reference and General Stacks)ISBN: 0970605463Publication Date: 2001-04-01
Analyses
To apply musical analysis in your research, you have three basic options: 1) you can conduct your own analysis, 2) you can read someone else's analyses, 3) you can conduct your own analysis and compare it to one or more analyses by others. You can often find analyses of musical works in book form by searching for the musical work in Library Search and limiting your results to books. Individual analyses are often classified with biographies for the composer who wrote the work, at ML410 on the shelf. You can also find analyses in article form by searching for the musical work in a periodical index database (see core databases on the Articles page of this guide) or by consulting a specialized bibliography of analyses, like the two listed below:
Analyses of Nineteenth- And Twentieth-Century Music, 1940-2000 by Call Number: ML128.A7 H64 2007 (Music and Dance Reference)ISBN: 0810858878Publication Date: 2007-02-15Bibliography of music analyses.
Music Analyses by Call Number: ML128.A7 D5 1991 (Music and Dance Reference)ISBN: 0028701100Publication Date: 1991-05-01Bibliography of music analyses.
